Knobs and Handles from Lanhydrock

in #photography5 years ago (edited)


Handles and Knobs from Lanhydrock


Lanhydrock is a beautiful National Trust property near Bodmin, Cornwall. On the map it looks a bit in the middle of nowhere so, last Easter Sunday, I got it into my head that it would be less busy, than some of the more obvious tourist towns. Wrong!!!

Of course, it was just as busy as everywhere else. Maybe even more so since it was raining and it offered a chance of fun indoors.

On arrival John and I explored the gardens for a bit but then headed into the house as the rain got heavier.

In the kitchens I noticed him taking close up shots of small details and suddenly realised he had been inspired by a competition that was running at the time with the theme of handles and knobs. (No smirking from the Brits please! 😁)

Having been reminded, I then got busy myself and ended up with some lovely shots which left me in a bit of a quandary as to which one to enter into the contest, as you could only enter one.

Since the contest blurb included:

Don't just focus on the beauty of the handle but on the overall composition . . . The point is that we are looking for art. Something that you'd like to see hanging on the wall.


I decided to go for this one:

brass handle reflections.jpg

Be sure to click on the arrow to view it full screen!


I thought it fitted the arty criteria nicely since you can see me reflected in the brass plate of the handle, taking the photo and you can see the window reflected behind me.

I also like the texture in the old varnish.

However, sadly, it didn't win a prize. 😢

The handle was found on a Victorian "fridge".


Close second came this one which is actually my favourite:

brass latch.jpg

Be sure to click on the arrow to view it full screen!

I just love the yumminess of the textures surrounding this Victorian brass pantry latch. Maybe I should have entered this one instead.


And here are the other contenders in order of my personal preference:

Knob and Key hole.jpg


brass drawer handle.jpg


Stove Knob.jpg

Be sure to click on the arrows to view them full screen!

Sadly, I didn't make notes of exactly what these handles/knobs were on.

The bottom one was an oven door in the cast iron range and the others were on various pieces of equipment in the kitchens.

I got so engrossed in taking the photograph that I forgot to pay attention to the bigger picture. 😂

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

I wonder how it turns out we have a lot of different pens, I didn’t even think about it if it were not for you :) The first photo is great and unusual. Thanks for the great message @gillianpearce

I'm not sure what pens you're referring to! 😂

I like them all but I think you made a good choice witht he first one it is. So cool and the reflection of you taking the photo adds an arty feel to it I think

I thought so too @tattoodjay. It was one of those happy accidents. I didn't realise I was reflected until I looked at the photograph later. 😊

Sometimes accidents make for the coolest shots 😎👍😎

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 45% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Nice to read about

Nice to read about

I like them all but I think you made a good choice witht he first one it is. So cool and the reflection of you taking the photo adds an arty feel to it I think

I like them all but I think you made a good choice witht he first one it is. So cool and the reflection of you taking the photo adds an arty feel to it I think

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.405 which ranks you at #2295 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 426 places in the last three days (old rank 2721).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 225 contributions, your post is ranked at #122.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37