You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Golden Hour: mesmerizing sunset over Punta Esmeralda Bay, Mexico

in #photography6 years ago

the sun appears to be (almost) setting right into the sea in there, which is a very rare sight in this (eastern) part of Mexico.

So this is where I show my compass point ignorance @phortun. I thought the sun always appears to be setting into the sea if you are looking at a sunset across the sea! 😕

Sort:  

Not really Gillian :) We lived on the eastern coast so we could see the sun rising from the sea but to be able to witness the "into-the-sea sunset", you need to be on the western coast. This rule applies to any place in the world I suppose...

I am not sure why but I've always found such things difficult to get my head around @phortun. It's become a bit of a family joke, at my expense. 😁

I am sorry about that Gillian :D But it is not really that difficult - the sun rises in the east and it sets in the west :) There are some exceptions at extreme latitudes but other than that, it usually works ;)

But it is not really that difficult

Yep. That's exactly what my family say as they roll their eyes @phortun. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62845.90
ETH 3173.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82