Sunny Sunday Afternoon

in #photography6 years ago

Nature at Home.png

Yesterday started out being quite overcast and I was convinced it was going to rain. But since it was nice and cool I decided to get some gardening done. I moved the lawn, trimmed some trees and pulled out some weeds.

I decided to just relax after that but towards late afternoon, the sun had come out a bit and I decided to snap some pics from the garden.

Firstly, here are pictures of some of my Clivia Babies that I have grown from seed. These will end up being a mixture of orange and yellow flowers. Can't wait!
IMG_1060.JPG

IMG_1061.JPG

I decided to try and get a few picks of some of the flowers in bloom at the moment. This lovely yellow flower is actually in a big tree. I did not know what tree this was but after some sleuthing by my Wife, she determined it to be a Yellow Trumpet Bush. Evidently it is the Official Flower of the USA Virgin Islands.

IMG_1063.JPG

This is the flower of our Hibiscus. You can see the flower has quite a few more petals than some of the other Hibiscus types. We used to have a Bearded Dragon named Spike and he loved chomping down on these flowers!

IMG_1065.JPG

This lone White Rose is from a plant that I actually cut down quite a lot last year. It just decided to shoot into the sky through all the shrubs around it and was presenting this lone flower to me.

IMG_1069.JPG

Also, while out and about I was waiting for some of the awesome bird live to make a showing. I could hear them everywhere but they just would not show themselves to me to get a nice picture. The only bird I got in the short time I was outside was this little Laughing Dove.

IMG_1064.JPG

And finally I spot this little critter jumping around and then sunning himself on a branch. This gecko was tiny in size but huge in attitude!

IMG_1067.JPG

All pictures were taken with a Pentax K20D Digital SLR.

Sort:  

Are you actually on the Hibiscus coast mate or are these quite common everywhere ?

Nah, I think they are just common everywhere. (Unlike myself - Common that is)

The Hibuscus coast, is home to an abundance of indigenous hibuscus - but they are readily grown throughout South Africa in gardens :)

We really are blessed to live in such a beautiful country covered by fertile soil and an abundance of nature...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68