You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Northern Lights // In Real Time and Time-lapsed + My Top Five Tips

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Really amazing time lapses, i have also lapsed skies, clouds and fog movements this far and plan on making much more time lapses when spring and summer comes. I have one question for you. Lets say im gonna timelapse about 2-3 times a week. Will this affect my camera eventually ?Im using Nikon full frame camera and lens. Golden rule is as follows : everything that moves, wears. I dont want to get rid of my expensive piece of optics just yet :D

Sort:  

Thank you very much! I'd love to see some of that stuff! I'll tell you, when I first started I was definitely worried about wearing through my bodies as well. My first camera was a Canon 70D and those things are rated around 50K-100K actuations. I put over 100K on it in less than two years and it held up so well, I'm sure it could have kept going for a very long time. As for my a7R II now, I'm not quite sure of the count, but I'd have to say I'm nearing 80K-90K in just the past year. A lot of that comes from time-lapses. Most manufacturers though will only rate the lifespan of their full frame bodies to levels between 150K-500K. However, Canon and Nikon have both produced impressive data showing that some of their bodies have reached into the millions for some users. Incredibly enough, there are records of some Canon 5D mkIIs making it to over 8 million. Now sure, this definitenly won't happen for everyone, but I'd like to think that with proper care and good luck, that our shutters will have good, long lives. And of course, if it is to crap out on you, you can always get it replaced. Shutters are relatively low cost to replace when compared to purchasing an entirely new body. -- And if you're interested, you can check out this database out. It was created back in 2007 (I believe) and allowed people to report their actuation counts on many different models. It's quite neat to see just how far some of these bodies made it.

Thank you for your detailed and informative reply. I didn´t even tought about that it is always possible to replace shutter, not buying whole new body.

Yup! It is certainly a great alternative.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62397.62
ETH 3171.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77