Strange Cloud Phenomenon... Explained

in #photography5 years ago

Sometime in July evening, I spent time in the beach cafe when I suddenly saw these strange cloud forms. They were pretty small patches of clouds but with precipitation. There was one factor that messed with my mind. If it's raining why it never reaches the ground. You can clearly see that these lines won't come down.
I didn't plan to take photos of anything that evening but fortunately, I still had my camera with me. Here are some shots I took of these cloud forms.

DSC_1207.jpg


DSC_1210.jpg

So after when I got home, I began to search the internet for an explanation...
Apparently, they are not too rare cloud form but I had never seen this before. This is actually snow that comes down from these clouds. When the snow comes falls down enough, it melts to rain but these droplets are so small that they vaporize halfway down. This is why those lines disappear.

DSC_1209.jpg




Untitled4.png

Sort:  

That is amazing! I'm not sure I've ever seen this in real life. I'll be watching from now on. Your photos are excellent but I would love to catch something like this for real. Thanks to you I'll know what to watch for... and understand what I'm seeing!

Thank you! I love shacloudsnowledge about nature. I hope you'll see this in real life as well. Keep your eyes on clouds sometimes and I bet you will see this phenomenon at some point!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72