Trying To Walk Through The Water To Island/Favorite Beach Found In Estonia

in #photography5 years ago

A couple of weeks ago we had very hot weathers in Estonia and many people want to go to the beach or next to the lake to swim, I was no errand. Temperatures were soaring over 30 degrees Celsius and I and my girlfriend wanted to find a place we haven't been before. I have several great sandy beaches near my home but they all have one big problem in common, they are to shallow. I need to walk 500-600 meters to start swimming.
On that day, however, we set our destination to be Salmistu beach. This is located in northern Estonia, about 40 kilometers away from capital Tallinn at the small village named Salmistu.

DSC_0235.jpg

I watched the satellite photo of this place and then I saw a nearby island named Pedassaar. I also saw a clearly visible underwater trail leading from mainland to an island and I started wondering if it's possible to walk there. After some research, I found out that indeed it is possible but there is only a thin line of shallow path that is around waist-deep in case of zero sea level. If you were to walk off the thin path there is 16-meter deep water instantly on both sides. I also read that 20 people have drowned going there in the last 30 years.

This is the satellite photo of the place I'm talking about.

Untitled22.png

It is about kilometer water between land. I tried to walk the beginning and I walked about 200 meters and the start was really shallow but I decided to leave it to another time when sea level get much lower.
I did see some other guy trying to walk it and judging by eye, I think he went about 600 meters. I also took a photo of him with my telephoto lens to see how deep he is because I couldn't tell that by eye.

DSC_0231.jpg

He looks around waist-deep but for whatever reason, he turned back. So close but yet so far.

Here is a photo was taken of this island from the shore. This place is secluded, no one lives there and I really want to explore this area sometime.

DSC_0225.jpg

Now here are some shots of the rocky parts of Salmistu beach.

DSC_0226.jpg


DSC_0224.jpg

The Sandy part is the one you see on the first photo and it is an absolutely amazing location. Water goes deep very fast and after 4 steps you are already in water deeper than you. It was really enjoyable. The beach also had this great vibe that I can't explain. I can pretty confidently say that this is my favorite beach. I'm looking forward to visiting it once again this summer.

Here are a couple of more shots I took on top of the nearby tower.

DSC_0236.jpg


DSC_0237.jpg


DSC_0238.jpg




Untitled4.png

Sort:  

You can also use neoxian tag to earn NEOXAG tokens. Estonia is so beautiful...

Yep, I should. And yes Estonia id really nice!

That is amazing! However, I'd have to use a boat. If be afraid of what's in the water with me! I've watched shark week before!🤣🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha. Fortunately, in Estonia we have no shark danger :D

Haha I'm in no danger of sharks here either😂... However, you do need to watch out for gaters 🐊

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=greddyforce
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=trying-to-walk-through-the-water-to-island-favorite-beach-found-in-estonia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #594.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steem community project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62