Christmas Baking Time! Chocolate & Vanilla Sugar Cookies - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I went overboard again, imagine that.

DSC_0758.jpg

I saw this shirt the other day that said I have OCD (obsessive Christmas disorder). I’m waiting to receive it in the mail since it was clearly designed for me. Please tell me I’m not the only one who, more or less, loses ten years of maturity during the holidays.

DSC_0773.jpg

It’s passing so fast though. So it's time for these cookies. My mom used to have a huge cookbook collection and every Christmas the shorter me loved to spend hours browsing the Christmas ones and looking at the same pictures I saw the year before. One of my favorites was the checkerboards in this one book and I have some really good memories of Mom helping me figure out how to make the design the right way.

DSC_0793.jpg

We sold or gave away all of those cookbooks when we moved though (I don’t actually own any cookbooks, are you shocked?) so I didn’t remember which book had that recipe. I decided to try to recreate it based on my rather extensive cookie-making experience and I think I got pretty close. Of course, once I had all this delicious cookie dough I realized how many shapes it could be made into and I couldn’t decide which ones to share. I did what I usually do and just shared them all because they were all so fun and festive, how could I pick?

DSC_0754.jpg

The trickiest ones are the checkerboards, and I honestly didn’t give them my best effort, as you can see by my lopsided ones. I know, how could I not make them look better, they were only the entire inspiration for this post! You guys should fire me. In my defence though, these were batch number two. When I made the first ones my mom was meeting with some friends and asked if there were any sweets ready that she could take to share and I can never resist the pleasure of sharing cookies so my much prettier prototype checkerboards were devoured before their debut.

DSC_0786.jpg

This sort of thing happens a lot but I wouldn’t have it any other way. Anyway, even though I failed with batch number 2, they are actually not that hard and they’re really fun. The best part is when you get to slice them and see your work paying off in the form of little checkerboards! I also loved the slice and bake. The trick to those is to let your inside shapes get frozen solid so you don’t mess them up when adding the outside dough.

DSC_0803.jpg

I did do my best to describe the process for making each of these cookies, but I’m not always very good at that part so if you’re having trouble you can let me know and I’ll try to explain it better. Or (since I haven’t quite gotten around to making videos) you can search youtube for videos of how to do the kind you want to try.

DSC_0766.jpg

I really should have made this easier on myself and just done plain old cut-outs, but my excitement for the season made me want to do everything at the same time. By the way, I know already have too many choices here but I forgot to make swirls. Just so you know, that’s also something you can do. All you have to do is stack two different colored rectangles and then roll them together into a log and slice the end. Voila, pinwheels!

DSC_0804.jpg

Oh, and speaking of the colors, I only made chocolate and vanilla and then added some red beet powder for the red in the candy cane cookies. You can use regular food dye, I just try really hard not to because I hate using that nastiness, although if you can find natural food coloring that’s great. I like the simplicity of the chocolate/vanilla contrast though. Do what you prefer, just make these because they are so, so good and they make everyone happy!

DSC_0817.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Recipe available upon request to the first Steemian friend who says today's words : "Jingle Bells"

Want some other recipes to try? Here's my most recent food posts!

  1. Basil, Brie, Roasted Strawberry Crostini

  2. Gingerbread Flavored Fudge Candy

  3. Puffy Snowball Holiday Cookies [ butterballs ]

  4. Rosemary Garlic Roast Beef + Sauteed Mushrooms

  5. Homemade 3 Musketeers Chocolate Candies

  6. Fully Loaded Mexican Style Twice Baked Potato Skins

  7. Brownie Chocolate Chip Cookie Meringue Pie

  8. Molten Lava Chocolate Chunk Streusel Coffee Cake

  9. CHOCOLATE COVERED CARAMELS

  10. Christmas Gift Idea: How to Make Your Own Hot Cocoa Mix

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

DSC_0846.jpg

Sort:  

Very delicious Christmas food that recipe you create. Excellent job. "Jingle Bells"

Loading...

So nice! Can you share the recipe? :) Because I wanna Jingle Bells all day :D

I posted the recipe @yummyrum, sorry you missed but keep trying

I will start baking today. I hope they look as lovely as yours :)

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my post @askaran

AND

MERRY CHRISTMAS and STEEM ON!!

These looks like very delicious!

I'm so glad you like them @xgirl!

looks very good!

Glad you like it @dsocer! Thank you so much

Awww this is soo cute the recipe is super cute and looks delicious....Christmas cookies thank you for the recipe....loved it.

fantastic, did you give it a try?

Excellent !!
Christmas made special with this one :D
HO Ho Ho SANTA Gonna love it :D

@ gringalicious , you did a good job , thanks for your sharing , you always make me love your food .

Oh, that is so kind of you @bxt!!!

Español
Se ven muy deliciosas esas galletas. En otras palabras, muy gringaliciosas.
English
They look very delicious those cookies. In other words, very @gringalicious.

Haha, that's brilliant @rdelgadop ! Merry Christmas!

These are so pretty!! Haha that OCD shirt is really clever :P

I think so to, haha. Thanks @polebird!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63088.03
ETH 2952.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55