Chocolate Minty Swirl Brownies with a Secret - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Any football fans needing the perfect Superbowl treat tomorrow. Haha, I'm not actually a fan but I like making the football snacks.

All-Natural Mint Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Swirl Brownies..jpg

How do you feel about mint and chocolate? As for me, mint chocolate chip ice cream will forever be one of my favorite flavors.

All-Natural Mint Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Swirl Brownies (2).jpg

I also used to love York peppermint patties, Junior mints, Andes mints, and a whole myriad of other minty chocolate sweets. Ironically, Andes mints are not available if you actually live in the Andes, go figure. I know because I lived there for 4 years, haha.

All-Natural Mint Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Swirl Brownies (7).jpg

I wanted to make these brownies swirly and pretty with some color but, as you all know, I try to stay away from adding food dye unless absolutely necessary. That’s why I decided to try using….wait for it…yep, avocado. I know that most of you just yelled “GROSS!” but if you would just let me explain I can tell you how you won’t even know it’s in there.

All-Natural Mint Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Swirl Brownies (3).jpg

I’ve had this idea in my head for a while now to make for this time i March. Actually, I’ve made a few different recipes that involved avocado, mint, and chocolate.

All-Natural Mint Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Swirl Brownies (9).jpg

I made a slightly different version of the brownies with chocolate chip cookie dough instead of brownie batter the other day but it wasn’t what I was going for. The ratio of avocado to cream cheese in the filling was too much and they looked way too yellowy. Which meant, of course, that I had to try again.

All-Natural Mint Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Swirl Brownies (6).jpg

After some tweaking I figured out that the best way to get the color is to use the dark green part of the avocado. You know how when you cut into an avocado it has two distinct colors?

All-Natural Mint Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Swirl Brownies (12).jpg

Well that darker shade is what you want to use because it gives you the biggest bang for your buck, so to speak. Oh, and you have to use a perfectly ripe avocado. If it’s too ripe it will turn a little brown when baked and if it’s not ripe enough it won’t blend smoothly and may have a stronger, more fruity flavor. Make sure it’s bright and buttery soft.

All-Natural Mint Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Swirl Brownies (8).jpg

I don’t know why but there’s something so fun about the challenge of making food with natural colors. I mean, these may not be a health food but a least they’re made from whole ingredients from scratch. This is a great recipe to make anytime of year but it happens to also be perfect for St. Patrick’s Day or Superbowl Sunday tomorrow!

All-Natural Mint Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Swirl Brownies.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts
  1. 4-Ingredient Peanut Butter Chocolate Cereal Bars
  2. Floral White Vanilla Birthday Cake
  3. Spicy Cajun Shrimp Crunchy Tacos
  4. Easy Vanilla Marshmallow Milkshakes
  5. Gringalicious Snapshot Sundays + Saying Goodbye to January
  6. Pistachio+Kale Pesto Feta Pita Pizzas
  7. Triple Chocolate Chip Cake Ball Truffles
  8. Dairy Queen Cake Batter Blizzard Copycat
  9. Braised Slow-Cooker Pork Roast + Rainbow Root Veggies
  10. Black Forest Chocolate Chip Morning Buns

Recipe with upvote available upon request to the first Steemian to say "Superbowl 2018!"

All-Natural Mint Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Swirl Brownies (7).jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Superbowl 2018...touchdown?

Haha, I just realized you got to it first @drobinson, sorry about that. Upvote

All good, haha! Thanks!

Chocolates and mint seem challenging
But it looks amazing from the pictures .. well done
"Super bowl 2018!" Hhhh I think I'm late.

Yeah, you're a bit late, but thanks so much for commenting @slimanepro

That looks great!!

"Superbowl 2018!"

Loading...

looks very tasty. I like the sweet.

what an amazingly creative idea. This is going to be great for St. Patty's Day

I always appreciate your support @mamaloves, thanks so much

I love these pics, they look like they taste awesome

you are always so sweet @freerunner

phenomenal food photography. These just look incredible

you support is always so appreciated, thanks @noboxes

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

it looks really awesome and natural !I had never seen anything like it. I want!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95