Chocolate Oats & Honey Cut-Out Cookies (GF+Vegan) - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Chocolate Oats & Honey Cut-Out Cookies (GF+Vegan) (3).jpg

Easter is approaching fast isn’t it? No worries, I got ya covered with this semi-healthy recipe.
My sis was telling me about these particular cookies that she’d gotten from a local bakery while I was away traveling. Apparently they were memorable because she still has been asking me to recreate them. The way she described them was that they’re just your basic shortbread cookie, but with that bakery vanilla flavor and a chocolate dip that makes them so good.

Chocolate Oats & Honey Cut-Out Cookies (GF+Vegan) (2).jpg

While I’m definitely going to make her some just like that, I was inspired by her talking about it to try making a little bit of a healthier version. You know, because sweets have a time and place, but it’s good to throw in a little more balance sometimes too. These cookies are made with minimal ingredients and they are so fast and easy.

Chocolate Oats & Honey Cut-Out Cookies (GF+Vegan) =.jpg

I happened to be out of oat flour when I wanted to make these so I simply processed some rolled oats into my own flour and even with the extra step I think these took me under an from start to finish. Now if you want to get fancy with the chocolate dipping/decorating then you might need a little longer, but the point is that they’re simple.

Chocolate Oats & Honey Cut-Out Cookies (GF+Vegan) (5).jpg

My first few test batches were good, but I needed to do a little tweaking because I think I was being a too ambitious about keeping the ingredients low and they were lacking the texture I was going for. The flavor for even my least favorite batch was so good though. I don’t know how such a basic combination can turn into magic in the oven, but it does. The way I’d describe these final cookies is somewhere between a graham cracker and a chewy granola bar. Crunchy on the outside, but soft on the inside and totally dip-able!

Chocolate Oats & Honey Cut-Out Cookies (GF+Vegan) (7).jpg

You can do any shape you want, by the way. I picked up a little Easter egg cutter the other day because I thought it would be fun for this month.

Chocolate Oats & Honey Cut-Out Cookies (GF+Vegan) (6).jpg

So I’m out guys, but I really hope you get the chance to try these and love them.

Chocolate Oats & Honey Cut-Out Cookies (GF+Vegan) (8).jpg

Chocolate Oats & Honey Cut-Out Cookies (GF+Vegan)
Ingredients

1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
3/4 cup raw (turbinado) sugar
1/2 cup honey
2 tablespoons arrowroot powder (or cornstarch)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
4 cups oat flour
2 teaspoons coconut oil
2/3 cup (about 120g) semi-sweet dark chocolate, roughly chopped
Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (190 C) and line a few cookie sheets with parchment or silicone mats. Cream coconut oil and sugar in a large bowl, then scrape sides and beat in honey, arrowroot, vanilla, baking powder, and salt. Add oat flour a cup at a time and beat until dough is well mixed.
Divide dough into halves and roll out each portion, one at time, on a lightly floured surface in a layer about 1/4 inch thick. Use cookie cutters to cut desired shapes or just a sharp knife to cut squares. Place cookies side by side (no need for much spacing because these don't spread very much) and bake for 7 to 9 minutes until edges are lightly golden. Remove and cool completely before frosting.

Chocolate Oats & Honey Cut-Out Cookies (GF+Vegan) (9).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Miso Mahi-Mahi Brown Rice Pad Thai Noodles
  2. Chile Lime Veggie Burrito Bowls
  3. Chocolate Covered Almond Butter Eggs - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT
  4. Traditional Greek Lamb Gyros + Tzatziki Sauce
  5. Mint Chocolate Chip Muddy Buddies
  6. Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies
  7. Homemade 'Nilla Wafers with Banana Pudding
  8. Carrot & Lentil Salad with Indian Curry Tahini Dressing w/ Vegan Option
  9. Simple Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart
  10. Springtime Vibes Salad+Cilantro Almond Butter Dressing

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Chocolate Oats & Honey Cut-Out Cookies (GF+Vegan).jpg

My Current Stats: 63,138 Steem Power | 12,673 Followers | 28,885 Posts | Reputation 74.697

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Nice
Thanks for the recipe, simplicity and creativity
Well done ..

Yummy.. That's what I'm talking about.. I have a quick question... The Oat flour you were out of.. Did you add Rolled oats ( like oatmeal) into your flour? Because, I have added oatmeal to Meatloaf.. And it was also really good. It made my Meatloaf very moist. Your cookie display is just beautiful. I love the way your camera takes pictures. And, I feel like there is still some hope with your last comment on how your Introduction post only made .21 lol .. When I get Big... I want to be just like you!!! Thanks for sharing!!

you are very kind. I ground some steel cut oats to make my own flour. Not sure I'd recommend that for everyone, it was a huge mess and put some wear and tear on my mixer for sure. Great commenting, thanks so much @pickyvicki

Maybe it's best to stick with the oat flour then.. lol I like to simplify things.. so easy is best for me..

haha oak flour = rolled oaks + flour

o my goodness im so in love right now.... i want to have some of this

you now have the recipe, give it a go @janrotas

sure i would, weekend food adventure

Would love it as my midnight snack!

good choice @tamsguitar, thanks for commenting

Sweet! Cant wait to try this recipe...tonite

did you give it a try?

I can't help but salivate and this post coming early in the morning ( in this part of the world). I can't help it than to visit kitchen now. Good job.

Please when will you have video channel like D-tube, learning would be much easier that way ?

Well, I'm actually working on getting into video right now so hopefully soon I'll be able to share. Thanks @seento!

Great! Kindly inform us when it's ready.

nice food :)

Thank you follow you and vote :)

I love the mute button

These cookies looks really delicious thanks for sharing @gringalucious

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80