Christmas Chocolate Coated Snickerdoodle Milk & Cookie Shots - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago

Chocolate Coated Snickerdoodle Milk & Cookie Shots..jpg

I’ve been wanting to try these for months and I’m so psyched out of mind to share them!

How To Make Chocolate Coated Snickerdoodle Milk & Cookie Shots.png

Do you ever get an idea that just sticks to the back of your brain until you act on it? Well, I know I do. Yep, that would be me. The crazy inspirationalist (<- my favorite made-up word for the day). Can you imagine anything better on a friday than these?

You’ve probably seen this idea floating around the web, but probably not with snickerdoodles! I don’t remember when it was exactly, but the first time I came across a similar idea, it got lodged in my brain and I’ve been planning to make them for my cookie week since early October. (That’s a long time considering most of my recipes have had about 3.5 minutes of forethought prior to me making them.) Major props to the first person to think of making an edible cookie cup for milk, it’s mind-blowingly brilliant!

Chocolate Coated Snickerdoodle Milk & Cookie Shots (3).jpg

So I knew I wanted to make them but I didn’t know how I was going to do it. I’ve seen a few people using pop-over molds to bake cookie-shots in, but as I don’t have one, I had to find another way. First I tried making foils molds using the neck of a bottle to shape it, but my cookies just kept crumbling or oozing off when I baked them. Then I tried cupcake pans, which worked fine, but I wanted a more shot-glass-like shape. I realized by the second day of testing (that’s right, these took me 2 whole days to perfect!) that I needed to have a mold that wouldn’t allow the cookies to spread much so that they would hold their shape.

Chocolate Coated Snickerdoodle Milk & Cookie Shots (8).jpg

What I ended up with was some simple items that most of you probably already have, so yay for not having to buy fancy equipment! I used wine corks, foil, and some generic, tall juice glasses. Let me break it down; You make the dough and roll it into extra-large balls, grease the inside of the cups, flatten dough balls and dip in cinnamon/sugar, wrap a cork in a layer of foil, shape your dough around the cork, drop it into the cup, bake at 350 for about 10 minutes, then coat the inside with chocolate, done! Here’s some pics to help you grasp the concept.

Chocolate Coated Snickerdoodle Milk & Cookie Shots!.gif

Okay, and here’s one of the key steps that you cannot skip; grease the cups well. As is usually the case for me, I learned this lesson the hard way….over and over. Let’s just say my brothers got to have snickerdoodle crumb milkshakes for a day or two.

Chocolate Coated Snickerdoodle Milk & Cookie Shots.jpg

I also tried pouring milk into the cookies without chocolate but the milk finds its way right through the cookie. The chocolate acts as an inner coating and when you pour in the ice-cold milk it hardens it even more. As it is, they will still leak if you either don’t get a sealed layer of chocolate inside or leave them holding milk too long.

Chocolate Coated Snickerdoodle Milk & Cookie Shots (10).jpg

The latter shouldn’t be a problem since you can probably handle devouring them quickly, but the step of coating the inside can be slightly tricky so be prepared to have a few flops when you’re practicing. I don’t recommend trying these if you aren’t prepared to have a few fails, because it’s a trial and error thing, but if you do try them, I can suggest some great ideas for using the disasters. For example, cookie crumb crusts for your holiday pies (like cheesecake), cookie truffle balls, milkshakes, or crumbled in trifles. Those are just a few ideas off the top of my head but I’m sure you could think of plenty more.

Chocolate Coated Snickerdoodle Milk & Cookie Shots (6).jpg

I hope you guys don’t mind the overload of pictures, maybe someday I’ll learn to control myself better on this, but I was just so excited about these! There isn’t a lot of room for making cuts when spreading holiday cheer to the world is foremost on your mind Bottoms up guys!

Chocolate Coated Snickerdoodle Milk & Cookie Shots (7).jpg

Print
Holiday Cookie Week #5: Chocolate Coated Snickerdoodle Milk & Cookie Shots
Come on, you know you've always wanted to drink your milk out of a cookie! This homemade holiday treat will make you feel like a kid.

Prep Time 20 minutes
Cook Time 20 minutes
Total Time 40 minutes
Ingredients
1/2 cup organic vegetable shortening or vegan butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup full-fat coconut milk
2 tablespoons applesauce or pumpkin puree
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 1/4 cups flour
~
1/2 cup sugar
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 cup dairy free semi-sweet dark chocolate melted
Instructions
Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) and line a baking tray with parchment or silicone baking pads. Beat shortening and sugar until creamy, then add applesauce and coconut milk. Mix in all other ingredients ending with flour until completely mixed.
Combine sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl then divide half into another small bowl so you have one for rolling dough in and one for sprinkling on top of chocolate.
Take some wine corks and wrap them in one sheet of foil and press down to smooth as much as possible to the shape. Grease the inside of 12 to 14 (or as many as you have and bake in 2 batches) tall juice glasses (or pop-over pans.) If you can't reach bottom of glasses use a greased napkin and a butter knife to get to the bottom.
Roll the dough into 3 tablespoon sized balls, dip in cinnamon/sugar mixture to coat all sides, and flatten into disc shapes. Take as many corks as you have wrapped in foil and stand them up in the center of dough discs (see picture). Wrap around cork and shape into a cup as best as you can, then drop into your greased glasses. Place the glasses on a baking tray and space about 1 inch apart.
Bake for 9 - 11 minutes or until the sides or edges start to darken slightly. Remove and allow them to cool for at least 5 minutes then loosen edges with a slim knife and invert cups to carefully shake them out. Remove corks gently. Just know you'll likely have at least one fail.
Melt the chocolate in a double boiler and spread a thin layer onto the inside of the cookie cups (do your best to get any hole or the cookies will leak.) Spread it up on the rim and dip rims in cinnamon and sugar. Place finished cups in fridge until chocolate has hardened then feel free to pour in your ice cold milk and devour!

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Super Soft Cinnamon Swirl Cookies
  2. Sweet Potato + Roasted Chestnut Shepherd's Pies
  3. Inside-Out Chocolate Covered Caramel Twix Cookies
  4. Blackberry BBQ Pulled Jackfruit Sandwiches+Cilantro Pepper Slaw
  5. Homemade Chocolate Peppermint Pattie Candies

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Travelicious: Disneyland at Halloween Time 2018 + 77,000 Steem Power reached
  2. Silverwood Theme Park Rollercoaster On Rides POV (Front Seat)
  3. Montana Travels Glacier National Park
  4. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  5. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  6. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby

Chocolate Coated Snickerdoodle Milk & Cookie Shots (9).jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99