Cocoa & Maca Bliss Balls - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Cocoa & Maca Bliss Balls-2.jpg

Today’s all about simplicity and ease.

Sometimes less is more and that’s what I’m feeling today, sound good? I know I’ve shared some recipes for bliss balls in the recent past but today I tried something new. Ever heard of maca? It’s becoming quite popular within the health food niches these days for all it’s said health benefits.

Cocoa & Maca Bliss Balls-5.jpg

Now to be completely honest, I try to look at any foods in this category with my “bs radar” turned on high, if you know what I mean. Haven’t we all heard of the newest “superfood” that thrives growing in the impossibly harsh conditions of the Icelandic glaciers, is picked by virgin nuns, cures cancer, and makes you poop rainbows and grow fairy wings? Yeah, me too. I’m just saying that when I hear about the newest ingredient that’s trending, I take it with a grain of salt before believing in it’s magical qualities.

Cocoa & Maca Bliss Balls-4.jpg

That being said, I do love trying new ingredients and I think there are in fact some foods that do have particular health benefits. Maca is a root vegetable that’s in the same family as broccoli and caulifour. It’s said to help with a number of things from hormonal balance to energy levels. I found some at Trader Joe’s recently so I wanted to try adding it to my most recent batch of bliss balls.

Cocoa & Maca Bliss Balls-3.jpg

These are so seriously good and did I mention that they’re a lot like eating cookie dough? I added some mini chocolate chips but you can also use cacao nibs. They’re great for lunchbox treats, afternoon pick-me-ups, or just a sweet after dinner treat.

They’re quick, easy, and don’t require any cooking, so yes! Also, if you’ve been using maca yourself and have seen any difference I’d love to hear about it so let me know in the comments. Enjoy!

Cocoa & Maca Bliss Balls-6.jpg

Cocoa & Maca Bliss Balls


Prep Time: 15 minutes
Total Time: 15 minutes
Yield: 10-12 balls

A quick and easy treat made with just a few simple ingredients. Basically healthy cookie dough, what's not to love?

Ingredients

1/3 cup pitted dates + 5 tablespoons hot water
2/3 cup rolled oats (be sure they are gluten free if necessary)
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
2 tablespoons maca powder
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1/4 cup raw walnuts
1/2 teaspoon sea salt (optional)
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract (optional)
2-3 tablespoons mini chocolate chips or cacoa nibs

Instructions

Soak the dates in a glass cup or measuring jar with about 5 tablespoons hot water.
Add the oats and walnuts to a food processor or blender and pulse until finely ground. Add the soaked dates (with the water) then add the remaining ingredients, except chocolate chips and pulse again until as smooth as you'd like. (I left mine a bit gritty for texture but if you'd rather, you should probably be able to get it completely pureed.) Pour in chocolate chips/or chunks and pulse just to combine.
Roll the mixture into small bite-size balls (about 1 1/2 tablespons each). If you're mixture seems a bit sticky or too soft, place it in the fridge to chill for about 30 minutes and it should be easier to roll.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Korean Edamame & Jicama Stir-Fry
  2. Cherry Berry Nice Cream Sundaes
  3. Crunchy Maple Cinnamon Pecan Cereal
  4. Sweet Potato & Avocado Sushi Rolls
  5. Homemade Peanut Butter Recipe

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  2. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby
  3. Vlog #2 Rock Climbing With @hotrod, @fullofhope, and @whiteknight20 + What I ate Today

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Cocoa & Maca Bliss Balls-1.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Haha. I freaking love their name.

And they look delicious too.

wow.... the food in the picture looks really tasty
i wanna got this! please give me!

You are quite right to mention the marketing techniques of some products that promise anything to sell, however, in between so many lies there are products that really do what they promise, I must admit that I do not know what maca was and much less what I was referring to a root of a plant related to broccoli or cauliflower.
I really like the ingredients that this recipe has, in the preparation it makes them look simple, thank you very much for letting us know this exquisites
I wish you a wonderful weekend weekend dear friend @gringalicious

Following you on steemit is one of the best decisions I've made here ... I may not be getting upvotes as I would want but reading your interesting and educating posts alone keeps me going.. Kudos to you for your beautiful works..

yum!! This looks amazing! :)

@karensuestudios thanks so much, so glad you stopped by and took the time to comment

Hey you can't go wrong with simplicity! These look amazing. I want to try one! lol :) Great job. :)

You describe it very well. I enjoyed. I want to test it
wink

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98