Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Chicken Nuggets - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Chicken Bites (8).jpg

Coming at you guys with another recipe.

Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Chicken Bites (0).jpg

You know that age old question about desert islands and a single food? The one that goes “If you could only choose one food to live off of on a desert Island for the rest of your life, what would it be?”

Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Chicken Bites (2).jpg

So I get the point of it, a fancy way of deciding what your favorite food is, but I’ve always felt this question was still too vague. I mean, I like specifics. Are there any other people on the Island? And does the island have anything edible on it already? Like, if we’ve got some coconuts and pineapple then we’ll make some spears, catch some fish, and be all set right? I’m just saying, details would be nice people.

Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Chicken Bites (3).jpg

Whatever the case, I’m a very indecisive person so this question has always been a real toughy for me. Now if I had to make this decision on other’s behalf, like for my family, I think it would be easier. I’d go for chicken nuggets. Yes, they are probably one of the most popular foods in my family, if not the healthiest. The boys are especially huge fans of any form of fried chicken and that’s why coming up with a slightly healthier version seemed like a great idea.

Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Chicken Bites (4).jpg

I recently made some new friends that have some pretty restrictive allergies with certain foods, and as you guys know, I love a culinary challenge. That’s why recently I’ve been playing around a little bit with more alternative ingredients just to get some fresh inspiration.

Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Chicken Bites (5).jpg

This version of chicken can either be baked or pan-fried, depending on your preference. I wanted to try coating them in a simple coating that would be gluten free without needing any hard-to-find ingredients so I used almond flour and unsweetened shredded coconut. These still aren’t the most common ingredients, but I’ve noticed them both becoming more popular on the shelves at more than one local grocery so I’m hopeful you can find them as well.

Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Chicken Bites (6).jpg

If you can’t find them the almond flour it can be made at home using raw almonds and if you can only

Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Chicken Bites (11).jpg

Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Chicken Bites


Prep Time: 20 minutes
Cook Time: 20 minutes
Total Time: 40 minutes
Yield: 6 - 8 servings

Need a change from your typical chicken nuggets? They're crispy, delicious, easy, and gluten free.

Ingredients

Chicken:


2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken tenders or breasts
1 1/2 cups flour
1 egg
1 cup ranch dressing (recipe follows or store-bought)
1 1/2 cups blanched almond flour
1 1/3 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
1 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup cornstarch
peanut oil for frying (or preferred oil)

Ranch:


1/2 cup sour cream
1/2 cup Greek yogurt
2 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon dill
1 teaspoon fresh chives
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon onion powder

Instructions

If making the ranch homemade, mix ingredients for the ranch in a small bowl and refrigerate until ready to use.
Mix almond flour, coconut, pepper, and salt; pour into pie plate. Pour cornstarch into a separate pie plate and whisk egg and ranch in a small bowl.
Cut chicken into bite-size pieces and dip first into flour, then egg/ranch, then breading and place on parchment lined tray.
Fill a large saucepan or deep fryer with a few inches of oil and heat to medium high. Fry chicken in batches for 1 to 2 minutes per side until done through. I like to test by cutting the largest piece to make sure it is completely cooked. Remove to paper towel lined plate to absorb excess oil.
Serve immediately with hot sauce or extra ranch..

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Easy Vanilla Cream Custard Berry Tarts
  2. Chocolate Spelt Greek Yogurt Waffles + Maple Nut Butter Syrup
  3. Moroccan Ribboned Carrot Raddicchio Salad
  4. Heirloom Tomato Marinara Meatballs & Spaghetti Squash
  5. Chocolate Oats & Honey Cut-Out Cookies (GF+Vegan)
  6. Miso Mahi-Mahi Brown Rice Pad Thai Noodles
  7. Chile Lime Veggie Burrito Bowls
  8. Chocolate Covered Almond Butter Eggs - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT
  9. Traditional Greek Lamb Gyros + Tzatziki Sauce
  10. Mint Chocolate Chip Muddy Buddies

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Chicken Bites.jpg

My Current Stats: 63,589 Steem Power | 13,160 Followers | 29,460Posts | Reputation 74.754

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Coconut and almonds nuggets sounds some thing amazing. You cooked and presented really well.

thanks so much for commenting @introvert-dime

Looks really good, what makes it red?

there isn't anything 'making' it red, it's just the color after frying. Great question @cookit

A wonderful recipe from you! Well done
Fuck I'm hungry, the pictures are amazing
Thanks for sharing

Wow, how delicious! I will definitely make this recipe.

thanks so much for stopping by and commenting @craftsman252

That looks delicious

Good photography

I am feeling hungry

thanks for commenting

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Yummy! Just reading the title has my mouth watering. I am going to make these for my son, I'm sure he'd love these. Great food presentation as per usual.

Oh, I hope you enjoy @obeyempresz !

you are really great !

Wow looks delicious! Thanks for sharing :)

thanks so much for stopping by @gomovies

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63159.84
ETH 2972.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57