Cuban Black Bean & Plantain Plates + Mango Salsa - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Cuban Black Bean & Plantain Plates + Mango Salsa (V+GF)-5.jpg

Time for another unusual (to me) fruit. Wait, plantains are fruits right? Hey Google! Yep, he said they’re fruits. Wait, is google a guy or a gal? Google?……….. Omg, ROFL after that search. You should definitely look it up yourself though. Anyway, I’m really excited about this recipe today.

Cuban Black Bean & Plantain Plates + Mango Salsa (V+GF)-1-2.jpg

I’m still on this quest to discover all the tastes and uses for every kind of produce I can get my hands on. I wasn’t sure about this one though. Plantains have always seemed kind of odd to me and I always imagined that they’d taste like bitter bananas. That’s why I was so surprised when I made these baked ones because they’re so fricken good!

Cuban Black Bean & Plantain Plates + Mango Salsa (V+GF)-3.jpg

I’d say they’re something like a sweet potato with a fruity twang. I found myself just snacking on them by themselves before I’d even finished making this meal. That’s how much I liked them so don’t be surprised if they show up here again really soon.

Cuban Black Bean & Plantain Plates + Mango Salsa (V+GF)-4.jpg

Alright, let’s get to the point here. These “plates”, for lack of a better word, are so simple and fast to prep. I actually ate mine in a bowl, but you’re welcome to serve as you like. Now I realize that it’s more traditional in Cuban cuisine to serve this with rice. It’s just, I was already baking the plantains and I had some perfectly available sweet potatoes around. The mango salsa was a last minutes decision, but you know how I always like to keep adding extras in my recipes.

Cuban Black Bean & Plantain Plates + Mango Salsa (V+GF)-6.jpg

It’s something you should be able to buy from the store if you don’t want to make it. Otherwise you can simply use normal salsa or just skip it. I don’t recommend skipping it though because it’s the perfect condiment to finish off this dish. I’ve been having a major mango moment in case you haven’t noticed.

Cuban Black Bean & Plantain Plates + Mango Salsa (V+GF)-8.jpg

Cuban Black Bean & Plantain Plates + Mango Salsa

Ingredients

1 (15 ounce) can black beans (about 1 1/2 cups), drained & rinsed
1 teaspoon taco seasoning
2 large sweet potatoes, sliced into fries
3-4 large plantains, peeled and sliced
1-2 medium avocados, sliced
sea salt & black pepper to taste

Mango Salsa:


1 large mango, peeled pitted and diced
1 tablespoon lime juice
1 small bunch green onion, diced
1 red bell pepper, seeded and diced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 teaspoon sriracha
1/4 cup fresh cilantro finely chopped

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 C) and line 2 baking trays with foil. Place the sweet potatoes and plantains on two separate baking trays and season to taste with salt and pepper. Roast in oven for 25-35 minutes until tender-crisp and browned. (Flip halfway through cooking.)
To make the salsa. In a medium bowl, combine the mango, lime juice, green onion, bell pepper, garlic, sriracha, and cilantro. Toss to combine.
Toss the black beans with taco seasoning heat them in a small skillet or saucepan until warm. Serve with the sweet potatoes, plantains, mango salsa, and avocado.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Sunbutter Chocolate Chip Cookies
  2. Mediterranean Roasted Eggplant Dip (Baba Ganoush)
  3. Traditional Ukrainian Borscht Soup
  4. Warm Fig & Cardamom Oatmeal
  5. Cocoa & Maca Bliss Balls

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  2. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  3. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby
  4. Vlog #2 Rock Climbing With @hotrod, @fullofhope, and @whiteknight20 + What I ate Today

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Cuban Black Bean & Plantain Plates + Mango Salsa (V+GF)-7.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

This lovely plate full with yummy fruits and nutrients as well. Keep do sharing your recipes with us.

EVERY INGREDIENT ON THIS PLATE IS PURE HEAVEN :DD absolutely delicious combination, well done 😋 have a wonderful day, GREETINGS!

This is definitely a winner! It is the ultimate vegan gourmet dish. With sinfully attractive fries to robust black beans all together firing up my palate.
I surrender to TASTE!

If your intention was to surprise us with this recipe, I must tell you that you have achieved it. !Great!
My family loves mango
Thank you very much for lareceta and its way of preparation
I wish you a wonderful weekend

Ohhh myyyy Goooooooddddddd!
I am soooo going to make this as soon as I get my hands on all the ingredients. Plantains are heaven, and I'm glad you're noticing that hahahah. Also, that mango salsa looks out of this world, I will definitely add it to my salads as well (love me a good salad with mango, I can't get enough of it).
Thanks for this recipe!

Yummy! Am just happy with the fried plantain🤣😅 SF3 in Krakow...you going?

@immarojas Yes! I can't wait. Will you be there?

Afraid not, have to be in the Philippines. My friends in London will though if you need a hand, will give them a heads-up. Is the whole family going??? Should be fun in Krakow, such history.

@immarojas That's too bad you can't be there but maybe next time. As for my family, I think just a few of us are going.

A few is great..esp in Krakow, that's what I was told. Have fun Tori..perhaps next time I can by then. Cheers!

That looks absolutely amazing!
Writing these ingredients down so I can make this! Thanks for sharing! 😋😋

So nice look Thanks for this recipe
My comment vote you

@gringalicious so amazing photography with food. I can't wait to eat these.

This looks so good. I love easy recipes like this and I know it will be delicious

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.95
ETH 2946.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55