Gringalicious in San Diego Travel Series - Part 2 San Diego Zoo!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Finally back home and able to sort through my photos and tell you guys more about our trip. It was amazing and just like when I went to London, I already can'y wait to return. There are are just so many things to see and do there I could have spent many more days happily.

DSC_6456.jpg

IMG_20180214_142914.jpg

DSC_0343.jpg

DSC_6445.jpg

In the first post I hared on the trip I only share the first day, and as we were traveling for much of it, it was really only a half day. Day two was a very fun and full day and it happened to be Valentine's Day. We hit the zoo and Horton plaza, both on this day, but I honestly have so many pictures I've decided to split it into two posts so I can show you everything. So this post is about our trip to the famous San Diego Zoo!

DSC_0276.jpg

DSC_6494.jpg

DSC_6547.jpg

DSC_0298.jpg

The Day started off of course, with something delicious. Everyday of the trip we ate breakfast at the hotel becuase it was one of the included amenities in out stay. The selections were many, but I'm such a creature of habit I went with my favorite almost everyday, fruit and yogurt. Unfortunately they didn't have berries everyday but I really enjoyed the melons and other refreshing options.

DSC_7629.jpg

DSC_0274.jpg

DSC_0267.jpg

DSC_0315.jpg

Before we headed out for the day I was gathering my things and realized that I'd made a humorous mistake in packing and grabbed the wrong thing. You see, I'd meant to get my camera strap but I accidentally had packed an extra pair of red shoelaces instead. Hey, I think my Macgyver moment worked out just fine. It might just become my new thing.

DSC_0247.jpg

DSC_0270.jpg

DSC_0310.jpg

DSC_0278.jpg

As I'm sure most would agree with me, the highlight of the zoo is typically seeing the large animals in real life. Yes, the small exotic creatures are a lot of fun, but seeing animals like lions tigers and bears up close is so excting. We actually had to return to a few of the animals spot's later in our day because they weren't in sight the first time. This happened with the lions, tiger, cheetah, and jaguar. Basically all the big cats, which are my favorites, so we had to make the effort to see then again.

DSC_0377.jpg

DSC_0462.jpg

DSC_6786.jpg

DSC_0470.jpg

Also, I think there's definitely a lot to be said about what certain zoos and foundations do to help animals and endangered species, so I'm not trying to be controversial here, but I also like to be honest and open about any of my opinions. That's why I must admit that my sister and I noticed a few of the animals that seemed very pitiable. The polar bears in particular looked very unhappy. I just can't see how keeping an animal that's designed to live in the arctic in a warm climate like this can be a good thing.

DSC_0419.jpg

DSC_0348.jpg

DSC_0304.jpg

DSC_0319.jpg

That said, I'm sure the zoo has done a lot to provide for all the animals there, and many of them seemed perfectly content with their pet humans. (Oh, hey if you want to see a great post with more of the bubbles check out my sister @fullofhope 's post HERE)

DSC_0320.jpg

DSC_0487.jpg

DSC_6825.jpg

DSC_0288.jpg

Oh and the pandas were so fluffy! (If you want to see more of them check out my sister @fullofhope 's post HERE)

DSC_0412.jpg

DSC_0406.jpg

DSC_6791.jpg

DSC_6788.jpg

I also might have to adopt a baby baboon, so cute!!!

DSC_0283.jpg

DSC_0284-2.jpg

DSC_0358.jpg

DSC_0330.jpg

Until the next post then!

DSC_6555.jpg

DSC_6771.jpg

DSC_6589.jpg

DSC_6548.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

DSC_6503.jpg

DSC_6556.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

My Current Stats: 61,362 Steem Power | 11,420 Followers | 27,340 Posts

Sort:  

Very lovely!! :D

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

great second part of the story :) the mac gyver moment :D looks awesome with the shoestrings. maybe you are on to sth. :D

ahh, you caught my mac gymer momemt, that's funny. You're the first one to mentioned. Thanks so much for actually reading my post @exploreand

Amazing pictures. Seeing big animals in front of the eyes is a lot different than seeing them on a screen or pictures.

In a few months I will begin wildlife photography and spend a good time in forests n wildlife sanctuaries.

Seeing the wild in front of you truly shows you what wildlife is like. The life is not limited to brick forests, i.e., cities. The life in the wild is truly amazing.

You get a glance of wildlife in the zoo.

When I saw a rhinocerous in front of my eyes, I could not believe how big & massive it was.

Now that's what I'm talking about, that's awesome commenting.

I'll be watching for your wildlife photos. Where will that be?

Do you already have a post about the Rhino?

Not too soon. Hopefully, after a couple of weeks I will begin posting my wildlife captures. I will definitely let you know.

I don't have the Rhino picture with me as I saw him a couple of years ago.

Right now, I will be posting tech related content, digital marketing, etc.

That all sounds great. I am really looking forward to those wildlife photos

Thanks for your interest. I will surely let you know.

wao wao wao

@gringalicious, i need not ask if you had fun, you sure did have a "mad" fun, every bit of the moment was well captured. Thanks to you.

I would love to visit also. This is just super awesome

i remember watching a documentary about the San Diego zoo. For sure they treat animals well... the animals there probably eat a lot better than a lot of humans...lol

thanks so much for the great commenting @liwen12345, I really appreciate you taking the time

I would love to visit the California Beaches one of these upcoming summers. I will definitely stop by the zoo. What kind of nikon are you using?

I'm using the D750 and my sister @fullofhope is using my other camera, the D5300

Thank you for the info. Great photography, keep it up!

@gringalicious I just have to ask, What were the turtles doing in the Picture you took ??
Also if you would like come on over and see my latest BLOG if you would like to look at some Silver Koala's........@stokjockey

I think the turtles were playing king of the hill

Sweet! The shoe lace camera strap was pretty slick. Like they say, improvise, adapt, and overcome. :)

you caught that, that's awesome. My D750 was a Christmas gift from my parents. My dad was less than happy to hear that I was using shoe strings as a strap. Fortunately, all turned out well, LOL

Heh! But at least you took some amount of measures to secure the camera. Rock on. :)

I can see you had a nice trip, how was the adventure @gringalicious

thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my post @princeyk

Wow! I was used to seeing your great food photography blogs that looking at your travel photos surprises me and amazes me. Great photos and a great travel experience for you and your sister. What a fun way to spend the Valentine's day for you both. 👍

Awesome commenting @filnette, thanks so much. Yes, I intend to have several travel posts this year. My next scheduled trip is Chile

That sounds promising. I'll be on the lookout for your Chile travel post. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64