Hummus Crusted Chicken Meal Prep Bowls - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

DSC_5018.jpg

Okay, so I probably shouldn’t say this, but (knock on wood) I think the sun might have finally decided to stick around for the rest of Spring and I’m so excited about it.

DSC_4986.jpg

Not only that, but I’ve been trying to get over yet another cold the past few days and today I feel nearly a hundred percent so I’m feeling extra happy today. Health is not something to be taken for granted, my friends. Be thankful.

Is it just me or has 2018 been a killer year for the flu? I’ve been sick about 5 times already this year and I can’t stand being sick! I mean, I’m sure no one likes it, but I seriously don’t know what to do with myself when I’m sick because, unless it’s a really bad one, I loathe laying in bed all day and will avoid it at all costs.

DSC_5025.jpg

As weird as it might sound, I almost despise mild colds more than really bad ones because when it’s just enough to make you feel like crap but not bad enough to make you want to do nothing all day, it just messes up your whole day. Let’s be honest, it just makes me kind of cranky all day.

So, meal prepping seems to be all the rage right now, do you do it? Guys, I would love to tell you I’m this organized and meal prepping is a semi-regular thing for me, but, well it’s not. While the thought of having a planned meals ready for the week is an idea I’m so down with, it’s just not really a realistic goal for a big family and a food blogger that likes to change her mind a lot. On the other hand, I have thought about taking on the challenge for just one week. Especially because so many of you have been asking about these type of recipes and I really just love the simplicity. For today I’m setting my goals at a low and realistic level though, and just sharing one.

DSC_5033.jpg

So one of the coolest things about making these meal prep bowls is that it can all bake at the same temp in the oven and, depending on your pan size, you should be able to fit it all onto just two pans so that it can all bake simultaneously. Oh, and as for the containers I used, you can get them online here -> Pyrex 3-cup containers or use whatever storage containers you’ve got on hand.

For the hummus crusted chicken I tried quite a few variations but I did find that every time I tried coating the entire chicken it would stick to the foil pretty badly so for convenience sake it’s much easier to just coat the tops of the chicken and avoid this. However, if you’re stubborn like me and really want to coat it all, just be sure to spray the foil lined pan with oil first. Also, you’ll need to allow the chicken to rest after baking and know it still might stick a little. This is where a thin spatula is helpful to scrape it off the pan without losing too much of the coating, but be careful not to scrape up foil with it. Not sure that would be the healthiest addition to your meal, lol.

DSC_5036.jpg

Hummus Crusted Chicken Meal Prep Bowls


Prep Time: 20 minutes
Cook Time: 50 minutes
Total Time: 1 hour, 10 minutes
Yield: 4-5 servings

These meal prep bowls make meal prepping quick and easy. Just a few simple steps and you'll have meals all week long.

Ingredients

Sweet Potato Fries:


3-4 large sweet potatoes, scrubbed
1 tablespoon olive oil
sea salt and pepper to taste
1/4 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Roasted Broccoli:


4 cups broccoli florets
sea salt & pepper to taste
1 tablespoon olive oil

Hummus Crusted Chicken:


1 pound boneless, skinless chicken tenders or breasts
1 egg
1 cup traditional hummus, store-bought or recipe follows
chopped chives or green onions for serving (optional)

Hummus:


1 (15 ounce) can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
1 tablespoon tahini
2 cloves garlic
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)
1 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon paprika

Instructions

Sweet Potato Fries:
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F (200 C) and line 2 baking trays with foil; set aside. Chop potatoes into matchsticks and toss with olive oil and seasoning in a large bowl and spread out in an even layer on tray and bake for 15 minutes. Then remove from oven and toss a little bit then return to oven and bake for 15 to 25 more minutes until crispy. I like to start checking them at about 10 minutes to make sure there are none getting burned. Remove from oven and season with more salt and pepper to taste.
Hummus:
While the potatoes are baking. Combine all ingredients for the hummus base in a food processor or blender and blend until smooth. (You'll probably have more hummus than needed but it makes a great dip for the fries.)
Hummus Crusted Chicken+Roasted Broccoli:
For the chicken, mix the egg and hummus together in a pie dish or shallow bowl. Use a spoon or spatula to spread the hummus on the tops of each chicken breast and place on foil lined tray. (*see notes)
For the broccoli, toss together with the olive oil, salt, and pepper and place on the opposite side of the chicken on tray. Place in the oven with the potatoes and bake the tray for 18-25 minutes, or until chicken reaches an internal temperature of 165 °F (73.9 °C). Remove from oven and allow the chicken to rest for at least 3 minutes before serving.
Bowls:
Divide everything among 4 or 5 bowls or meal prep containers and if desired top the chicken with chives or green onions. Serve hot or store in the fridge for later.
Notes

*I've tried coating the chicken entirely with the hummus coating and it works pretty well, however it tends to stick to the tray so I find it simpler to just coat the top. Alternatively, if you'd like to coat it all you can spray the foil lined pan with oil first. Just be sure to allow the chicken to rest after baking and know it still might stick a little so a thin spatula is helpful to scrape it on the pan without losing too much of the coating. (hint: be careful not to scrape up foil with it though.) ! ! I used these Pyrex 3-cup containers but any meal prep containers will work.

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas and inspiration, please do not forget to look at my other recent posts

  1. https://steemit.com/photography/@gringalicious/5-ingredient-s-mores-puff-pastry-pop-tarts-food-photo-shoot
  2. Oven-Fried Chicken & Buttermilk Waffles
  3. Chocolate Chili Avocado Truffles
  4. Roasted Red Pepper+Chicken Orzo Pasta Skillet
  5. Thank You So Much!: Gringalicious Hits 75 Rep Score
  6. No-Bake Raw Vegan Snickers Bar Copycat
  7. Carne Asada Breakfast Burritos
  8. Goji Berry Banana Chia Breakfast Jars
  9. Chocolate Fudge Brownies with a Secret
  10. Dark Chocolate Covered Espresso Bean Mini Loaves

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Design Logo.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

DSC_5041.jpg

My Current Stats: 66,501 Steem Power | 14,906 Followers | 31,46 Posts | Reputation 75.06

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Beautiful .. Perfect healthy food, good for you
I think the recipe needs a sauce And fresh juice
Great post from you
Thanks for sharing

sauce and fresh juice, good idea

Delicious!

adjusts tie, putting on my apron

First thing first, health is indeed wealth. Most of the time, we take it for granted by not appreciating what it means to be healthy. Being down for a day usually shifts our focus and bring things into perspective. We appreciate it more. I am really happy you are better now. That's what comes with a weather like this; flu. Nothing annoys me more than it. It has its way of messing up a whole day and render someone useless. Stay strong my friend. Vitamin C helps a lot too, but then, with your healthy meals, I know you are in safe hands. Stay strong please.

back to my appointment.
Seeing that I have been employed, I would say thank you to you waving at your cousins.
This is an amazing treat, and I love the way it looks; very inviting. The chicken is extra soft and nice, the broccoli and sweet potato fries added more nutritional value to this, seeing that the oil level is way moderate, so there are no issues with the cholestrol level. This is for for consumption and i can eat this all day.
Tested, trusted, tasted, and recommended. Well done.

grabs fork. Shall we?

Oh, I did not realize you had been hired, perhaps there was a slight mis-understanding, I am sure it was on my part. Perhaps it is more like an internship, or at the very least a probation period is in place, surely.

Great writing, keep up the great work!

Hahahahahhahahaha you made me laugh out, really. No problem, I would take it, as long as it brings me closer to your kitchen and also to always have a taste of your delicacies. I know the effect of the aroma, so I should be excited with tasting.
Thank you very much. You are so much fun. Thank you.

Looks very delicious and healthy! Thank you for the beautiful photography and inspiration to eat healthy!

thanks so much for commenting @victoriacalloway

Yum!! I don’t do weekly lunch preps but I do nightly ones for my hubby’s lunch. I cook up a yummy salad the night before and he takes it to work the next day :) I might try this hommus crusted chicken yum!

I do hope you are able to give it a try, thanks so much for commenting @wildflowerjessi

looks healthy and delish !

Thanks @stray!

fantastic food

thanks so much

Looks delicuous!

I am glad you think so, thanks so much for commenting

good healthy food always good.

wow looks very healthy stuff gud for body

sorry for the 5 day delay @jassi, thanks so much for commenting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67