Jamaican Jerk Chicken Plates + Mango Salsa - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

DSC_4635.jpg

Time for something with warmer vibes, don’t you think?

DSC_4613.jpg

I’m definitely in need of a little sunshine in the form of food about now. Have I told you guys how done I am with the cold and how much I’ve been dreaming of Spring? Okay, okay, I know I have, but this constant stream of gray and rainy days is making me a little psycho. It’s time to put away the coats and rip out the flip flops!

DSC_4650.jpg

Also, I’m not being 100% for real here, but I’m kinda thinking it would be cool to do lots of traveling this year, like a trip every month! While that’s maybe not a realistic goal, I am planning my next viaje. In fact, I just might be booking tickets this week. But more on that later, we’ve got a recipe to discuss.

DSC_4615.jpg

So yeah, the weather is getting me down a little bit. Of course, I’m always up for trying to imagine away the seasons with my newest recipe and I guess you could say that’s what inspired this one. I was planning out which recipes I wanted to make for the week and I knew it had to be something with a savory and sweet combo like this. I don’t know about you, but I sometimes really enjoy alternative styles of salsa to the the traditional tomato based one. Not that I don’t really enjoy regular salsa, but it’s just nice to change things up a bit sometimes I think.

DSC_4623.jpg

There’s a few pieces to the recipe, but it’s really not difficult and it comes together pretty easily. Obviously the flavors of the jerk chicken are the best part, but the mango salsa with the roasted asparagus with it are nearly perfection. Of course, you can’t forget the rice either, because rice = life. I’m just hoping you’re as excited as I am about trying this one.

DSC_4641.jpg

Jamaican Jerk Chicken Plates + Mango Salsa


Prep Time: 45 minutes
Cook Time: 45 minutes
Total Time: 1 hour, 30 minutes
Yield: 4-6 servings

A fresh and healthy meal that comes together quickly and brings some of Summer's best smells and flavors to your kitchen!

Ingredients

Roasted Asparagus:


1 bunch fresh asparagus, trimmed
1 medium onion, sliced
1 tablespoon olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

Chicken:


1 1/2 pounds (about 4 large) boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 tablespoons melted coconut oil
1 tablespoon lime juice
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon freshly minced ginger
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 sprig of fresh thyme (or 1/2 teaspoon dried)
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 tablespoons coconut sugar (or 1 tablespoon brown sugar)
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper

Mango Salsa:


1 large mango, peeled pitted and diced
1 tablespoon lime juice
1 small bunch green onion, diced
1 red bell pepper, seeded and diced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 teaspoon sriracha
1/4 cup fresh cilantro finely chopped

For serving:


4 cups steamed white rice
1-2 ripe avocados, sliced
lime wedges
green onions
cilantro

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 C) and line a baking tray with foil. Place the trimmed asparagus and onions on the tray; drizzle with oil and season to taste with salt and pepper. Roast in oven for 25-30 minutes until tender-crisp and browned.
Combine all the ingredients for the chicken marinade In a ziplock bag and add the chicken. Toss to combine and allow the chicken to marinate for at least 30 minutes and up to 48 hours.
While the chicken marinates, make the salsa. In a medium bowl, combine the mango, lime juice, green onion, bell pepper, garlic, sriracha, and cilantro. Toss to combine.
Heat a large skillet or outdoor grill to medium high. Grill the chicken for 5-8 minutes per side or until the chicken is cooked through. Remove from the grill.
Divide the rice among bowls and top with a chicken breast, roasted asparagus/onions, avocado, salsa, and any other desired toppings.

DSC_4674.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Chocolate Chunk Cookie Dough Protein Bars
  2. Ricotta Lemon Pancakes+Whipped Honey Butter
  3. Asparagus & Feta Puff Pastry Tarts
  4. All The Chunks Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies - VIDEO
  5. Lavender Vanilla Bean French Beignets
  6. Super Moist Malted Milk Chocolate Chip Bunny Cake
  7. Roasted Purple Potatoes & Cod Sheet Pan Dinner
  8. Tropical Breeze Carrot Juice Smoothie
  9. Toasted Peeps S’mores Skillet Brownie
  10. Chocolate Hazelnut Granola Orange Greek Yogurt Bowl

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Design Logo.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

DSC_4646.jpg

My Current Stats: 65,194 Steem Power | 14,348 Followers | 30,885 Posts | Reputation 74.95

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Wow this looks absolutely amazing! Great job 😋

... Looks like you're ready for the APPICS Soft Launch!
Sign up to become an early tester here
See you on board 😉🙌

Greetings
@agent

You have whetted my appetite.

I got hungry in Venezuela we have a typical dish that is the pavilion you should try it

Beautiful .. really looks delicious
Wonderful creativity from you, thank you for the recipe
Thanks for sharing

Looks so pretty and delicious at the same time! Even down to the sprig of thyme in the drink ;-) I don't eat chicken, so I'm just going to "pretend" it's jerk tofu :-D

Niceee

Wow! That looks so yummy and very healthy. I love the combination of colours. Looks so delicious and flavory. Good job @gringalicious for another epic one! Have a nice day.

Do you like own a restaurant or something? All the foods i saw today look so professionally made!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

awesome

Glad you like it @allthereisislove!

glad you shared it

Wow that looks so good!

Yuum!! Talk about a healthy treat! Thanks for sharing <3

thanks so much for commenting @joxus

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62623.58
ETH 3021.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72