Oats & Berries Skillet Cobbler - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago

Blackberry Oatmeal Skillet Cobbler-1.jpg

I know I’m being ridiculously impatient for spring to be fully here but I can’t help it.

I’m sick of the back and forth rain and drab gray days being so unpredictable but I guess I should take what I can get, you know? Those teaser warm days we had recently, it’s all their fault. They totally messed up my resolve to get through the rest of early Spring without complaint. What can I say, I tried, but I really want it to warm up now. My view of cold weather is that it’s only worth it if you get to have mountains of pillowy soft snow everywhere. After that it needs to be sunny and beautiful.

Blackberry Oatmeal Skillet Cobbler-2.jpg

One of the best things about this recipe is it’s simplicity. It takes all of like 10 minutes to mix the berry filling and make the crumble topping, then you just bake it for a few and it’s done and ready to be ice creamed!

Baker’s note, keep in mind that the berries will cook down to about half of what they are so pile as high as you can manage. I think I subconsciously skimped because I was using my handpicked berries from last season and it was my last bag. Clearly I need to make sure that doesn’t happen next year just because I don’t squeeze in the time to pick them. Of course, now that I'm living in the mountains again it will be huckleberries next time.

You can make this in a skillet, or ramekins, or mugs…. Basically, anything you can bake in the oven safely will work. Hey, jars would be adorable! Why didn’t I think of that before now? Yeah, do it in jars!

Blackberry Oatmeal Skillet Cobbler-3.jpg

Oats & Berries Skillet Cobbler


Nothing is quite as perfect for using fresh berries as a simple cobbler. This one star blackberries but can easily be changed to use any berry you like.

Prep Time 20 minutes
Cook Time 40 minutes
Total Time 1 hour
Servings 6 - 8 servings

Ingredients


Berry Filling:
6 cups fresh blackberries
1/2 cup sugar
4 tablespoons cornstarch
4 teaspoons lemon juice
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon salt
Oatmeal Crumble Topping:
3/4 cup 1 1/2 sticks vegan "butter", room temp
1 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup plant-based milk
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/4 cups gluten free flour blend
1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats

non-dairy vanilla ice cream for serving optional

Instructions


Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) and lightly grease a large skillet (ramekins, mugs, or any type of oven proof pan will also work).
To make the filling, mix the sugar, cornstarch, and salt in medium mixing bowl to combine then add vanilla and lemon juice. Pour in berries and gently toss to coat in mixture. Scoop mix into prepared skillet or chosen dishes and fill to the rim (keep in mind the the berries cook down a lot).
Now make the topping. Beat butter and sugar together in a medium mixing bowl or stand mixer until creamed. Add milk, vanilla, soda, and salt and mix well. Stir in flour then oats until evenly combined. Crumble mixture on top of berries and place skillet in oven for 28 to 32 minutes or until top is golden brown. Cool for just a few minutes then serve warm with ice cream if desired.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast.jpg

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Simply Frosted Carrot Cake
  2. Springtime Pasta Salad
  3. Coconut & Pistachio Dark Chocolate Brownies
  4. Vanilla + Chai Oats
  5. Peanut Butter Chocolate Protein Bars

Blackberry Oatmeal Skillet Cobbler-4.jpg

Banner 2019=framed7.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

It looks delicious! Nice presentation in the cups:)

I'm so glad you like it, thanks!

Delightful😋

Posted using Partiko Android

You're too kind!

Hi i am new in this steem. i need your support to incrise my steemit life . I think that its delicious food
looks very tasty and delicious food ..greetings and have a nice weekend

looks good. too bad I am off the sugar :)

Thanks! You're too kind!

Anything with oatmeal is to die for. This made my day. I love cobbler. Thanks for this. Delicious for sure. Upvoted. Resteemed. Recipes like this is like food for thought and for the belly too haha.

I'm always so happy to inspire!

As always your photos are so good and your blog too. I resteem it

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @gringalicious! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 40000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 41000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

That does look delicious.

Oh, thanks! Have a great weekend!

Beautiful photography and well written. Thanks much! Your post....is a treat to read and I am sure the eating part will be just as enjoyable.

Thanks, I'm so glad you enjoy my posts!

I will keep stopping by and reading.....if that's okay with you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62