Pb&J Breakfast Cereal Bars (Vegan + GF) - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Who’s got the snack snackities? That’s great, me too! Don’t worry, I’ve got ya covered today.

DSC_0389.jpg

Did you know pb&j sammies aren’t something that’s common outside the States? In fact, they’re really weird to most of the world. When I used to live in Chile many of my friends there had never even heard of one (poor things).

DSC_0341.jpg

To be completely fair, I didn’t eat very many pb+j's while growing up because I was more of a savory sandwich kinda kid, but when I did I was always on team "more-J-than-PB". My sister @uglysweater however was always on "more-PB-than-J". Which are you on?

DSC_0394.jpg

I don’t even remember the last time I ate a pb&j but the flavors have been on my brain for some reason so I mixed that craving with my rice flour inspiration and turned it into a copycat version of the nutri-grain breakfast bars that my the gang and I used to love. They’re kinda like double sized fig newtons too…..only……. with pb!

DSC_0440.jpg

These are pretty simple to make and I went through multiple test batches before finding my fave version. The first rice flour dough I tried was the best tasting but it was just too crumbly to work with so I had to change a few things. Then the second time was better but I had added too much liquid which made them get tough and dry when baked. In this case I’m hoping the third time’s a charm. I found a happy medium between the first two doughs that is great to work with but also bakes into a soft, minimally crumbly, crust. Like I mentioned a second ago,

DSC_0504.jpg

I’m not vegan so I like using dairy and real eggs in baking. I’ll admit, I really thought the egg white version would be better. That’s why I was really surprised by the fact that literally everyone who tried them, even the boys, liked the vegan ones better. Both versions are good though, so try them both and decide for yourself.

DSC_0384.jpg

The filling can be switched to whatever flavor you want, I even tried apple, which wasn’t everyone’s thing but Brock and Sophie really liked it. The sweetness is up to you because you can almost get away with not adding any sweetener to the filling, but it’ll depend on your taste.

DSC_0412.jpg

I know most of you can go out and buy cereal bars similar to these from the huge selections at your grocery, but guys, the satisfaction of homemade ones is so worth it. These don’t have any of the ad stuff and you have complete control over how sweet to make them and what you add.

DSC_0408.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!


Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Recipe available upon request to the first Steemian friend who says today's words : "Peanut Buttah Jelly Time!"

DSC_0395.jpg

Sort:  

I really enjoy your food posts, they are very genuine presentations and look healthy. These bars look a little tedious but I will love to try them.

Looking very delicious. I like this. I want to eat pb&j. Recipe please. "Peanut Buttah Jelly Time!"

Loading...

eummm nyami so drool look really good ....

Gnammmmmmm

so good to hear from you again @sardt

Hmm! Amazing!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

recepie please @gringalicious :)

way too good to not try it out myself...

yes Please recipe!!

I hope you enjoy it @theislander, thanks!

Just shared the recipe above. Thanks @spirits4you!

It looks really good. May ask for his recipe?

Just shared above @ponnibong ! Happy Tuesday!

Yes. It is okay. Probably not my sustenance.
Thanks. 😀

I do not know what to say. You really make all the testy food.i love your post.

Oh, you're too sweet @suchi!

Waooo.. Looking so yumyyy.. Love to eat them.. I m feeling hungry after reading your post.. Thanx for sharing

Still so active, still so successful, still so delicious. I love it.

Best regards

Thanks @puffin! I'm so happy you liked this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57