Sourdough Caprese BLAT Sandwiches - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Okay Steemians, BLTs, how do you feel about them?

DSC_0090.jpg

If you just answered that they’re the greatest invention ever then (ding, ding ding, give ’em a prize!!!) I think we can still be friends. Phew, I was a little bit worried for a sec.

DSC_0084.jpg

So is it weird to imagine inanimate objects like sandwiches having their own personality? I think if a BLT had a personality it’d be all self-assured and possibly even a bit arrogant about itself. I mean come on, how could it not be when it’s so popular, right? Now a BLAT, they’d probably be a little less conceited from always living in the shadow of their more well-known competition, but I bet they’d still be pretty confident about themselves in sandwich world.

DSC_0029.jpg

I realize that messing with such a perfectly balanced thing as a BLT is akin to playing with fire. Seriously, just upgrading from a BLT to a BLAT is pushing the limits of perfection…..but I couldn’t help myself you guys, I had to do it! You know what though? I think you’ll agree that this is one scenario where “less is more” doesn’t have to apply because this sandwich is killer amazing!

DSC_0094.jpg

The roasted garlic butter, mixed with the sourdough bread, PLUS the caprese twist, make the final thing like a party of flavors in your mouth that’ll have you completely forgetting your plain old BLT. Personally, I don’t think there’s any going back for me now, this sandwich has won me over completely. Basically, you’ve just got to try these once to see what I mean. Disregard any preconceived ideals you have about sandwiches and just DO IT!

DSC_0102.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!


Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Recipe available upon request to the first Steemian friend who says today's words : "Bananarama"

DSC_0082.jpg

Sort:  

I love avocado....the dish looks really fresh healthy and delicious...thanks for sharing with us.

Thanks @pariza Enjoy the recipe!

Ingredients

4 large slices sourdough bread
6 - 8 slices uncooked bacon
1/2 cup lettuce leaves (I used spinach)
1 small tomato, thinly sliced
4 ounces mozzarella cheese, thinly sliced
1 small ripe avocado, pitted and sliced
small handful fresh basil leaves
Roasted Garlic Butter:
1 head roasted garlic (See this recipe if you need reference on how to do this)
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
sea salt and black pepper to taste
Instructions

Lay the bacon flat in a large skillet and cook over medium heat until crispy, 5 to 8 minutes. Transfer to a paper towel-lined plate (p.s. you can reserve what left in the pan for toasting sandwiches if desired, yum!)
Remove all the skin from roasted garlic cloves and mash them in a small to medium mixing bowl with a fork. Add the softened butter, salt, and pepper, and continue mashing until mostly combined, then beat the mixture together until you get it to a whipped and spreadable consistency. (Alternatively you can mix this in a small food processor or even a mixer if you find it difficult to do it by hand.)
Spread desired amount of butter on the bread slices and layer on your toppings, lettuce, tomato, mozzarella, avocado, bacon, and fresh basil. That's it, you're done and it's ready to devour, or as noted above, you can toast both sides of the sandwiches in the bacon pan until the cheese gets all melty and bread is golden.

Thanks for the recipe! I will be sure to try to make this some time this week

Wow! My mouth watering when i see you nice sandwich! I love it, thank you for the recipe.

Omg you got such a talent for making food presentations... beautiful photos..

My apetite exploded because of these photos:D

Oh, I know what you mean @edgarsart

I'm trying to eat healthier. I'm gonna try this for sure. Just gonna replace the bacon with chicken to make it a bit more healthier :D

chicken is a fantastic idea @yummyrum, I hope you make a post about it

to inspire hunger, that's actually one of my goals. I hope you found some to satisfy that hunger @alovelymess?

I like your words :The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent.

The problem with food pics is that I hunger the foods pictured with no means of eating them.. I gotta save these for campus when breaks over.

thanks so much, great commenting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64