Strawberry (Ridiculously) Tall Mini Cakes - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

I'm taking a little break from my travel posts because it's time for something super yummy!

Strawberry (Ridiculously) Tall Mini Cakes (5).jpg

Strawberry (Ridiculously) Tall Mini Cakes (4).jpg

By the way, happy Memorial Day to all my friends from the States! I'm so excited to kick off the summer and I'm so ready to get back into the kitchen on a more regular basis after so much traveling.

Strawberry (Ridiculously) Tall Mini Cakes (2).jpg

As soon as I got home, I immediately started brainstorming what to make. That’s when I remembered how much everyone loves strawberry shortcake and it seemed exactly right

Strawberry (Ridiculously) Tall Mini Cakes (3).jpg

Here's the thing though, I’ve always kind of felt sorry for this classic summertime sweet and I knew I wanted to approach it from a more feeling angle. I mean “short” cake? really? Come on guys, talk about a complex-causing title. What happened here to all that social correctness everyone seems to be throwing around? Doesn’t strawberry shortcake deserve a little of respect for being so incredible? I think so, and that’s what inspired my tall cakes.

Strawberry (Ridiculously) Tall Mini Cakes (6).jpg

Okay, and I’ve never been clear on the whole shortcake thing anyway. Some people consider an actual European style, biscuit-like shortcake the only way to go, while others use basic vanilla cake or angelfood in its place and call it shortcake. I’m gonna go with saying to each their own, and really, because these aren’t short-cakes no rules can apply anyway.

Strawberry (Ridiculously) Tall Mini Cakes (7).jpg

But wait, there’s more! I have to gush a little over of how much you’ll adore these! So adding a little altitude requires a little more support than your typical whipped cream so I came up with a slightly thicker version with its only negative point being that it’s made it impossible for me to ever consider going back to plain whipped cream. It’s a delightfully fluffy layer that’s somewhere between a basic whipped cream and cream cheese frosting so it’ll have you wanting to just grab a spoon and dive in.

Strawberry (Ridiculously) Tall Mini Cakes (8).jpg

For the cakes I used my absolute favorite white cake recipe that I can’t imaging being improved. In fact, it may be my favorite cake recipe period. It’s got it all, balanced sweetness, fluffy texture, and yet enough structure to support all these berries and cream. I already shared the recipe a while ago but for this version I adjusted the ratios so that it could be baked in a smaller batch. You use giant muffin pans to make these and then simply divide each muffin in half and stack four halves together per each cake.

Strawberry (Ridiculously) Tall Mini Cakes (10).jpg

If you’re feeling in the mood for a little more risk you could try stacking them even higher just for kicks but I found that four was the tallest they could realistically stay up without making a huge (yet incredibly delicious!) mess. However, I think four is enough to merit them being dubbed ridiculously tall and I’ll bet your friends an family will get as much fun out of these as mine did.

Strawberry (Ridiculously) Tall Mini Cakes (12).jpg

If I do say so myself, this is probably the only strawberry tall/short cake recipe you’ll ever need, YUM!

<Strawberry (Ridiculously) Tall Mini Cakes (11).jpg/center>

Strawberry (Ridiculously) Tall Mini Cakes


Prep Time: 30 minutes
Cook Time: 30 minutes
Total Time: 1 hour
Yield: 12 servings (6 tall cakes)

Ingredients

Cake:


3 egg whites
2/3 cup milk
1/3 cup oil
1/3 cup (1 stick) butter
1 1/4 cups sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups flour

Cream:


6 ounces cream cheese, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream
3 cups fresh strawberries, washed, trimmed and diced

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) and grease 2 6-cavity extra large muffin tins (this size). Pour egg whites into bowl of stand mixer and beat until they form stiff peaks then set aside for a moment. In separate bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add all other ingredients and mix until smooth then gently fold in egg whites to batter. Divide batter into pans as evenly as possible (about 1/3 cup batter per cup). Bake for 18 - 25 minutes until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Remove from oven and cool completely then loosen cakes from pan and place them in an airtight container in the fridge to get cold.
Cream:
Whip the cream in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with whisk attachment until it forms stiff peaks. Scrape cream into a separate bowl and set aside. Add the cream cheese, vanilla, salt, and sugar to the mixing bowl and mix until completely smooth. Beat for 2 to 3 minutes until light and fluffy then fold in whipped cream and place mixture in fridge for at least 30 minutes to chill.
Assemble:
Trim the tops off of cakes if necessary to make them level then slice them in half horizontally in the middle (like a sandwich bun). The top halves of the muffins will be slightly large than the bottoms so make 6 stacks, 2 cupcakes in each, with the 2 larger halves on the bottom and the smaller halves on top.
Starting with the bottom layers, spread a spoonful of the cream mixture on each layer and top with a layer of strawberries followed by the next layer. Repeat until you have 6 extra tall mini cakes that are perfect for sharing.....or not sharing!

Notes

These are great for making ahead but it's best to wait until serving time to assemble. If preferred, you can bake the cake batter in 2, 8-inch rounds and make one big cake instead of small ones. Also, if you would rather,you can bake the cake in a large rectangle pan and cut into squares then layer everything in a trifle dish.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Hey, did you see my NEW YORK VIDEO?????

Oh, and did you catchall the other travel posts from my Canada and New York?


NEW YORK

  1. Travelicious NY: Grand Central Station & Time Square
  2. Travelicious NYC: 1ST OFFICIAL DLIVE MEET-UP!
  3. Travelicious NYC: Visiting The Met
  4. Travelicious NYC: Carriages, Disney, Broadway, & M&Ms
  5. Travelicious NYC: Steem Friends & Italy in New York

    CANADA

  6. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: City Sights + Chinatown
  7. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Whale Tales + Fisherman's Wharf
  8. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Castles, Gardens, &.....X-men?
  9. VIDEO! Travelicious Canada: Victoria, British Columbia
  10. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Craigdarroch Castle
  11. Travelicious Canada - BC Museum & Butchart Gardens

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Strawberry (Ridiculously) Tall Mini Cakes.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Man is this for real!!! :O
I know everyone is saying it looks good and yum!
well it's because it freaking is !!!
oh sweet lord of sweet teeth!! :D

You received a 30.00% upvote from @brotherhood thanks to @mamalikh13!,

join on @brotherhood community on discord channel:https://discord.gg/3HZdaGk and share your post there.

Delegate to Bot and Get High Return Fix 100% earning return,
bidders will always win something and it will adapt to distribute all the 100% upvote ,now we reached to 12000 SP and recommend. send the 0.15 to 0.4 sbd or steem.

Wow! I love the strawberries so much , especially in cakes!! These shortcake looks so yummy and so attractive! It’s incredible cake!!!

@creativewoman thanks so much, I hope you get a chance to make these

Looks really delicious... wonderful photography!

At first I want to say that you are a good writer. Your food recipe is awesome. I tried to make two recipes you wrote earlier. Foods looking so alluring. Thanks for sharing the delicious recipe.

@akilasultana373 did you take pictures of the recipes you tried?

Lovely... seems like a tasty and refreshing treat.

Looks like a nice treat! Best wishes from Germany again.

woow its so delicious and yummy

Strawberries are an excellent source of vitamins C and K as well as providing a good dose of fibre, folic acid, manganese and potassium
its very helpful for human body

.thanks for sharing this recipe

Wow! thank you! loved it!

@aibolit66 I am so glad, thanks so much for commenting

I love strawberry shortcake did you make those or are they different pictures

Absolutely beautiful my mom used to do the chocolate covered strawberries

@polarbeats good to know, thanks for commenting

Anytime feel free to share yournew project with me and check out some of my music

No problem just trying to keep up with pepple on Steemit

These look so beautiful and so yummy.
I was just looking at them and thinking how I would start eating them from the top.

Thank you for sharing. I think I would definitely give a try making these.

I really hope you can @joalvarez!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77