Traditional Greek Lamb Gyros + Tzatziki Sauce - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

DSC_9296-2.jpg

So I think my nephew knocked a few years off my life the other day. I was siting alone in the kitchen and the biggest bug I’ve seen in a very long time comes crawling into the kitchen and it was making this horrible humming/buzzing sound. Omg, I don’t know why this is, but spiders and snakes don’t bother me much. It’s anything with wings that really freaks me out.

DSC_9263-2.jpg

Okay, so it’s crawling around the floor and then it got stuck underneath the pantry door and stays there while I’m attentively watching with terror to see where it goes. After I realized it wasn’t going anywhere I went to request immediate backup from a braver person than me. That’s when my 3-year-old nephew comes running into the room and says “I’ll get it, “Doh-dee!” (I’m “Doh-dee” by the way). So he runs and picks it up before I could stop him and then proceeds to bring it to me, which is the last thing I wanted. That’s not even the best part though, then he shows me that it’s a robotic toy bug. Guys, I know it probably sounds ridiculous to not have realized this, but if you could see how this thing looked in a dimly lit room and hear how it sounds, you’d probably have thought it was real too. Besides, I didn’t know my sister was going around buying awful toys for her son! (#jokingbutnotjoking)

DSC_9278-2.jpg

Uh huh, so that happened this week and everyone had a long laugh at silly “Doh-dee” freaking out. Wow, talking about giant bugs is SUCH a great way to introduce a recipe, isn’t it? Sorry, but it was just too funny not to share the moment.

Let me get off the tangent though and tell you about the gyros. I’ve been wanting to make them for ages but it’s one of those things that I always forget to plan for and I rarely have all the ingredients on hand because I can probably count the times I’ve bought lamb on one hand.

DSC_9285-2.jpg

Also, marinating or brining meats to make them more tender is something I’m a huge fan of. I sort of learned that growing up, because my dad would always brine meat for at least 24 hours whenever we were planning a grill-out during the Summer. It really can make all the difference. I especially noticed this while we lived in South America because so many of the cuts of meat there are very tough and super challenging to even make them passably chew-able, but a long brine can save the day.

DSC_9381.jpg

With this marinade it’s also about the flavor. Allowing the meat to sit for at least a few hours in all the herbs and the lemon juice gives you a way better flavor when you cook it. Oh, and if you have space in your fridge to put a pot, that’s how I did this recipe. You combine everything in roasting pan or oven safe pot and let it marinate overnight, then roast it in the same pan and save yourself lots of dishes. You can use a ziplock bag if a pan won’t fit or if it’s Winter, like it is for me right now, just stick it in your garage if it’s cold enough.

This meal is really easy to double if you need to make it for a larger group, and it’s something that can be made ahead to have for lunch or dinner during the week. For dairy allergies you can skip the feta and use coconut yogurt in the ztatziki. Another option, if you allergies to wheat and don’t want to use the pitas. serve this recipe with rice or another grain.

DSC_9290.jpg

Traditional Greek Lamb Gyros + Tzatziki Sauce


Craving a traditional gyro? Skip going out and make them yourself at home with all your favorite toppings!

Ingredients

Marinade:


3 tablespoons olive oil
1 lemon, juiced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon paprika
2 tablespoons fresh oregano
2 tablespoons fresh dill
1 tablespoon fresh mint
1 small red onion, thinly sliced
1 red bell pepper, sliced
1 cup cherry tomatoes
1 (about 1.5 pound) leg of lamb

Gyros:


3 - 4 pitas or naan bread
4 ounces crumbled feta cheese
1/2 cup green olives
1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes, roughly chopped
1 cup fresh spinach leaves

Ztatziki:


1 cup greek yogurt
3 cloves garlic, minced
juice of 1/2 of 1 lemon
1 large cucumber
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon fresh dill
salt and black pepper to taste

Instructions

Marinade:


For the marinade, combine the oil, lemon, garlic, herbs, spices, onion, and bell peppers in a medium roasting pan with lid (*see note) and toss together. Allow the meat to marinate for at least 2 hours, overnight is best if you can.
Heat the oven to 400 degrees F and place the roasting pan with lamb in the oven. After about 30 minutes remove from oven and remove the onion and peppers with a slotted spoon to a separate bowl. Turn the meat and roast for an additional 30 minutes. After the full hour of roasting, remove pan from oven and add the peppers/onions and tomatoes. Reduce heat to 350 degrees and re-cover pan. Return to oven and cook for 15 - 25 minutes longer until the meat is very tender (it should be nearly falling off the bone. Once done, cool the meat until it's a temperature you can handle, then separate the meat from the bone.

Gyros:


To assemble the gyros, warm the pitas on a medium skillet over low heat, one at a time. (Alternatively, you can wrap them in a foil packet and place in the hot oven.) Fill each pita with the pepper/onion/tomato mixture and lamb then top with feta, olives, and sun-dried tomatoes. Serve with tzatziki sauce.

Ztatziki:


Combine all ingredients for ztatziki in a blender or food processor and until nearly smooth. Pour into container with sealable lid and place in fridge to chill until ready to serve.

Notes


*If you don't have space in your refrigerator for the pan you can use a freezer size ziplock bag instead for marinating. As for the roasting pan, you can use a traditional one with foil or even what I used, a stainless steel pot with lid.

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Mint Chocolate Chip Muddy Buddies
  2. Blueberry White Chocolate Almond Oatmeal Cookies
  3. Homemade 'Nilla Wafers with Banana Pudding
  4. Carrot & Lentil Salad with Indian Curry Tahini Dressing w/ Vegan Option
  5. Simple Chocolate Drizzled Blood Orange Cream Tart
  6. Springtime Vibes Salad+Cilantro Almond Butter Dressing
  7. Chocolate Dipped Frosting Filled Doughnuts
  8. Sweet and Spicy Honey Bourbon Chicken
  9. Strawberries+Cream Fudge Brownie Trifle
  10. Tropical Bay Breakfast Jars (Vegan)

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

DSC_9270.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

My Current Stats: 62,701 Steem Power | 12,327 Followers | 28,520 Posts | Reputation 74.667

Sort:  

Thank you, one of my favorite dishes! Love your recipe.

thanks so much for commenting

Looks very deliciously!

I am so glad you liked it @craftsman252

Note to self: resist urge to bring creepy-crawly prank gizmos to meetups.

Haha, thank you @jacobtothe, I'll thank you for that.

Girl! i just love your photos of the food you are preparing! i seriously do! I have been to Greece, i am a huge fan of its cuisine! fresh fishes, super tasty tomatoes, feta!!, spices) 😍 and your plate really resembles the ones I had both in Athens and Mykonos! Really, I'm impressed! and hungry! 🥂 😅 i travel a lot, but my photos of food never looks as "tasty" as the dish itself. so you see, I'm jealous of your skills! ;D haha :) Hugs! kasia :)

Off to check those plates out in the pictures 👌 .. @k-a-s-i-a

Greek food <3

so glad you liked it @yummyrum

I am so saving this recipe to try later. I love pita bread, I recently tried gyro for the first time not too long ago and I must say that I am a fan.

I am so glad you liked it, thanks so much for commenting

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

I love using greek yogurt to cook! It just feel so good that you can make something equally delicious by using it as a replacement and much healthier ;)

It makes me hungry 😋

thanks so much for commenting

You are welcome

Wow ... This looks yummy , I wish I could have a Lil bite of the gyros .... Will love to try it out soon though ... Thanks for the share

You're so very welcome @dray91eu !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59