Triple Chocolate Sour Cream Scones - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Triple Chocolate Sour Cream Scones-.jpg

I am posting one of my favorite new recipes.

You seriously have to try it unless you are a scone hater. I mean, is it just me or are scones notorious for being dry and bland? The people who think that have obviously never had a good scone.

Triple Chocolate Sour Cream Scones.jpg

My family loves scones but I usually just do basic. This time we needed a serious chocolate fix so went for triple chocolate and the results pretty much speak for themselves.

Triple Chocolate Sour Cream Scones1.jpg

These scones were a hit. We all agreed that they somehow taste exactly like chocolate pop-tarts, but better. Not sure how that happened but I am just gonna go with it. They’re like chocolate chip filled chocolate pop-tarts which basically equals perfection in my book.

Triple Chocolate Sour Cream Scones5.jpg

I love how easy it is to make scones with a food processor. It does feel a little bit like cheating but it saves so much time and frustration. I think I use my food processor everyday. I pretty much love that thing.

DSC_0816-2.jpg

If you have either sworn off scones bacause of too many nasty dry ones or have just never really tried them then you must. Really, because these will change your entire opinion about the scone world.

Triple Chocolate Sour Cream Scones8.jpg

Triple Chocolate Sour Cream Scones


Prep Time: 20 minutes
Cook Time: 25 minutes
Total Time: 45 minutes
Yield: 18 - 24

Ingredients

Scones


1 cup (2 sticks) ice cold butter
3 2/3 cups flour
1 cup cocoa powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon soda
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 cup sour cream
1 egg
1 cup semi-sweet dark chocolate chunks or chips

Chocolate Icing:


2 tablespoons cocoa powder
3 tablespoons milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup powdered sugar

Instructions

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees F (190 C).
Cut butter into cubes and place in food processor with dry ingredients. Pulse a few times until mixture is crumbly. Add vanilla, egg, and sour cream and pulse a few more times until a dough forms.Add chocolate chunks and pulse just to mix them in.
Dump dough onto a lightly floured surface and divide into 3 balls. Flatten each ball into a disk and place on greased or parchment lined baking tray.cut into 6 or 8 triangles and spread each section about 1 inch apart.
Bake for 15 - 20 minutes until edges are golden. Remove from oven and cool completely
For Icing, whisk all ingredients together in a medium bowl until smooth. Drizzle over scones when cooled and allow to dry before serving.

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas, please do not forget to look at my other recent food posts

  1. Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Chicken Nuggets
  2. Chocolate Spelt Greek Yogurt Waffles + Maple Nut Butter Syrup
  3. Moroccan Ribboned Carrot Raddicchio Salad
  4. Heirloom Tomato Marinara Meatballs & Spaghetti Squash
  5. Chocolate Oats & Honey Cut-Out Cookies (GF+Vegan)
  6. Miso Mahi-Mahi Brown Rice Pad Thai Noodles
  7. Chile Lime Veggie Burrito Bowls
  8. Chocolate Covered Almond Butter Eggs - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT
  9. Traditional Greek Lamb Gyros + Tzatziki Sauce
  10. Mint Chocolate Chip Muddy Buddies

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast-4.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Triple Chocolate Sour Cream Scones2.jpg

My Current Stats: 63,605 Steem Power | 13,223 Followers | 29,525 Posts | Reputation 74.759

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

These look amazing. I want one with my morning coffee

I'm going to have to make more soon @noboxes!

I love these and will give preparing it a trial for real.

Also impressed by your awesome stats. You are one of the best here and i followed you from Day 2 on steemit.

@gringalicious

Don't stop giving these kind of posts.....

thanks for the encouragement @apolllo

Agreed @noboxes! I bet they'd fedex pretty good too. hint hint.
Oh fine...
cracks the baking tray

another brilliant display of talent and culinary artistry

I need these in my life, right now!

Looks good well done, great work!
A really beautiful recipe from you
Thanks for sharing

as always, thanks so much @slimanepro

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

That really is a great idea, chocolate sour scones, yummy I do want to try this one day.

thanks so much for commenting and welcome to Steem @steemclense

You hit 12 times (2 crits) and missed 11 times.

You hit 11 times (2 crits) and missed 3 times.

You hit 32 times, dodged 12 times, crit 19 times and missed 4 times.

The mob hit 25 times, dodged 1 times, crit 2 times and missed 12 times.

Found 12904 magic elements. Found Phoenix Greaves !

You hit 31 times, dodged 12 times, crit 19 times and missed 4 times.

You were hit 5 times and evaded 9 times.

Mmmmmmm..... chocolate heaven..... the presentation is so impressive, chocolate shaped "pizza-slices".....Mmmmmmm

Only a pleasure, the photos are amazing....really High Quality, shows the food in all its delicious-ness

Yummy!!! These look incredible. Dang I can't believe how many of your posts I have missed. haha I have been super busy. :) Great job as always!

Woow it looks dilicioue and healthy thanks for sharing its Ingredients i will try it Keep sharing its shape is also nice

Thank you as always @travellingwomen, my friend.

Thanks for reading my comment Its always good for me that you always read my comment and give a nice reply God bless you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62875.13
ETH 3030.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67