Found | Self Portrait

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Found.jpg


Found
Self Portrait
2018


I opened my eyes on the island of isolation
Wandered around with the sun caressing my skin
With grains of sand touching my bare feet
With my mind seeking for answers

Every step made me closer
To a place that seemed familiar
Where harsh waves shout silently
Where the sea meets the unknown

I found myself standing on the rocks
Where I learned to regain my strength
And turned black to white
And embraced the rocks covered in blue








As you all know, I tend to be extra when I go to places. Yep, I took some self portraits in Manay, Davao Oriental. This is also a part two-ish of my old photograph which was created in 2014.

I took a lot of shots and I would like to share them here, too!



DSC_0647.jpg



DSC_0649.jpg



DSC_0651.jpg



DSC_0677.jpg


So dramatic.



DSC_0670.jpg


Of course, there have been some struggles when taking them.


DSC_0588.jpg



DSC_0604.jpg

The rocks are slippery so I had to be careful not to do a high five using my face :P



DSC_0634.jpg

I asked my camera to do some self timer for me while standing on a tripod. That would be a 10 seconds with 9 shots in them. So, I have to be in that area in 10 seconds or else I'm going to miss some shots.



DSC_0621.jpg

And an out-of-focus shot...



DSC_0629.jpg

And of course, that camera strap that ruined it all.

I almost forgot to mention the rocks are so freaking hot! The sun was too harsh at that time but only the post processing made it look like it wasn't. Overall, I liked it still.

Sort:  

very pretty! Nice outfit choice to complement the surf and clouds

Yay thanks! You know, there are some amazing things that you could find in your mom's wardrobe :P

why those rocks look so hard? I mean, they look like they WANT to break every bone in your body, I didn't know rocks could look so menacing lol

They can try to break me all they one, but I'll still stand tall. HAAAA :P

Beautiful photos! The 4th and 9th are my favorite :D

Thanks! The waves at the photos in the last part are awesome, but the photos are out of focus. Lol. Glad you liked them!

I haven't been to Davao yet, in all the years we've lived in Bislig, Surigao del Sur (1971 to 1979). Betcha didn't know that, huh? XD

Yes I know all about your life. :P

Congratulations for you photos, and your amazing text! Really! Thanks for share

I love it! I don't think the camera strap "ruined" that last photo. I think it made it look a bit dramatic, like there is someone in the scene the main subject isn't aware of.

Oohh you have a point. The imperfection made it perfect :D Thank you!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

howdy from Texas hiddenblade! This is a wonderful set of photos, some fun, some dramatic like you said, none with the high five face shot! lol. But seriously the white dress created a beautiful contrast to the dark water and rocks, very well done!
You look like a natural in these nature scenes, do you do alot of outdoor shoots?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94