Kaleidoscope

in #photography6 years ago

What is it about SUNSET that mesmerises people, stops them at their tracks and get lost in the moment as the sun sets in the horizon? And without fail, people get hypnotised with its' beauty. Anywhere in the world.

Curating for @bayanihan few nights ago, I couldn't helped but wonder at @lostinmustypages' post that was full of awesome photos in Dipolog. You can check them here. Looking at them made me reminisce of those times I tried to capture them myself. Being told once that "I have the eye" when it comes to some of my images, sometimes it can't be helped that those captured MOMENTS wherever I am in the world can be the best or maybe not, depending on where they were taken in that moment in time.

For that perfect shot, one needs to be at the perfect place, in a perfect time for the perfect capture. Regardless of the camera used. Of course, experience and skills and having the eye are part of the mix. Something that we all wish we have.

Allonsy!

Sta. Catalina, Ilocos Sur

Accidentally seen behind our house as we were leaving to get some dinner. Suffice to say...we drove straight to the beach which took about 10 minutes on a motorbike, well more or less...

Usually on a bike, the beach can be reached in 10 minutes from our house. When getting there, the SUN was literally kissing the sea in the horizon...

I got a lot of stares as I literally jumped down the bike to capture this! With no finesse.

34318015_10155283386390755_3524749994764533760_n.jpg

Who won't get mesmerised with this one?

Bantay, Ilocos Sur

34191606_10155283386915755_3946656400461004800_n.jpg

I directed my mom towards the window and saw this, she'd just started walking after her surgery while in the hospital.

For the whole family, my mom's surgery was a testing time due to her age. It was a couple of weeks prior to her 91st birthday.

San Vicente, Ilocos Sur

This shot was at the border of Sta. Catalina and our town. Bordered by agricultural lands which at that time were of cornfields with a Moringa plant in the foreground.

The whole of Ilocos region is along the South China Sea where access for us is easy. At times, even if there's a beach near us, given the time and transport, we travel to nearby beaches for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Not forgetting those times where we just go where we feel like, have some fresh air or better yet, watch the sunset.

London, UK

This was the view from my room, date unknown.

Getting home from work, I literally ran and went in the rooftop for this. It was dark and not a single soul but the illuminated sky was comforting.

It's during these times when you wish that people are at peace, having a PAUSE in the busyness of life. Being still and just BE.

Sabang, Cabugao, Ilocos Sur

34321843_10155283386530755_7053210398891180032_n.jpg

34176305_10155283386145755_1482106361020940288_n.jpg

I have wished to retire here, I still do.

I have seen better ones, but mine have a story, a memory that in itself have a power to transport me to those places, those times, those moments. Alone or not. Some people chase sunsets, but most times, it's the unexpected that can touch us the most.

I've seen a lot of sunset photography here in the platform. Where's your best shot?

The best things in life are free. Let's pause and enjoy them.

All images are mine using my Samsung Galaxy S6 and S7.

27787513_10155023947945755_1367018004_o.png

30124557_10155167979270755_6615470742286893056_o.jpg

31693267_10155216560600755_1552724131697393664_n-2.png

Sort:  

what??? i need to be by the ocean ... i love love love your ocean sunset shots. great work. hope you are well and happy you have not left not be gone for a year. woot

Haha let's swap...i absolutely wanna be a hermit so i can live up the mountains, unless in Sedona.
Near the sea is cool too for those gorgeous sunsets. Thanks xoxo
Gone and off steemit? Nah.

@immarojas okay we can swap. for maybe a day or two but i feel safer in the mountains now. :)i am close to sedona. not far anyways. i do miss those sunsets. ho hummmmmm
you had told me you were leaving for a year, remember????

Off work for a year yes..sabbatical :)

@immarojas okay so not away from steemit! good

Yeah..here is where my income comes for 10 months more😍😍
How far are you to Sedona? I thought of spending 2 weeks there and perhaps my spirit guide will show itself to me. Not that i need to go there. That place is amazing!

@immarojas no kidding! i'm not far from sedona. i need to take a trip there seriously its been beckoning me to come visit again. its been at least 15 years and its part of my Hopi ancestry locale. your spirit guide is with you every day, you dont need to go there to see him. if you dont need to go, then why go? yes the place is amazing.

Hopi ancestry? My cousin used to work with the Yavapai tribe in Arizona.
I meant i don't need to go there to know I have one ;) I just wanna know what it is.
That place is different to anywhere I've been to. Don't delay if it's beckoning, should be interesting with what you do.

What a great selection of sunsets @immarojas.

I particularly like the London ones, especially with the first one that has the moon in it too.

I have taken a lot of photos of sunsets over beaches but getting ones over the city are harder for me.

Nice stories to go with them too! 😍

Actually, i got a few all around London, around Vicky and Mile End Park where i was staying for a few years. There is a raised part near Mile End station where you can have a 360 view.

I need to remember that @immarojas, if I ever find myself near Mile End Station in the evening! 😁

Alongside Regent's canal...across Queen Mary's😁😊

Great photographs !!! This can lessen stress for the day, so calm and very peaceful sunset view mam. Thanks for sharing ❤

You're welcome! Thanks for your autovotes ate, but pls change the time to 15-20minutes☺

Great photos man..specially the seventh one.. you got the angle right..thats taken from a rooftop. no?

Rooftop behind a barbed wire.

Thats why its the best one.. you put more effort behind it😂😂 great captures though.

Thank you, that's the best feedback i've ever received. Cheers!

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Thank you so much.

its the angles

What must i do about angles?😁

no no its all good

Oh..i thought you can teach me😁😅

I love the photography. 😍 great post. Thank you for sharing.

You're welcome! Hey, where can one go pls if based in oslob? or dumaguete? excluding Apo Island and Siquijor☺

@immarojas Loove you sunset shots!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87