Choices, choices

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

IMG_5117_1.jpg
Photo: CC BY-SA 4.0 - gallery.insaneworks.fi
Camera: Canon EOS 550D - Shutter Speed: 1/640 sec - Aperture: f/4.5 - ISO Sensitivity: 100
Location: Sastamala, Karkku Railway station, Finland

Yesterday I was drooling over some cameras and lenses in a local shop. Used devices, as this one only sells those. A week ago I was in another camera shop that sells used but also new cameras.

A week ago I was convinced that I needed the camera that the sales person was selling to me. Yesterday I was again convinced that I needed that camera what that sales person was selling to me. It was not the same as the other one was trying to sell me ea rlier. Managed not to buy anything. Both times.

The thing is, that I have no idea what I want anymore.

At first I thought that I knew, but now I don't.

Well, that's not entirely true, I know that I want EVERYTHING, so that's easy, but as there's one major thing that determines what I can get, money, I will have to stop drooling over the Hasselblads. Or do I? You know, you can influence this by upvoting me big time and sending me all your money. All currencies are welcome. :) Thanks man!

I'm not going to start photographing photos that would be printed to a 10 x 10 meter adds to some building wall, so I don't need 50 megapixels. Or do I? You know, you can influence this by offering me an extremely well payed job where I can solely determine what kind of Insane adds your company needs. :) Thanks man! As I mostly stuff my photos to blog posts like this, and there's always a chance that the platform or I, have to reduce the photo size, It's mostly insignificant if the original photo has 50 or 24 megapixels.

I also don't want to pay extra because of a certain brand. I could pay a little extra for good quality, but not just for a name. I don't need the latest and the greatest and I don't need that one camera or one lens to do everything for me.

But what I do want is separate lenses if I only have one camera. So no to fixed lens camera.

I love nature and street photography, occasionally humans in those too. But I also love, love, love macro photography.

And as I'm lazy and hardly ever carry a stand with me, so now when the evenings start to be a bit darker again, that has to be considered in the lens choice.

I do want something that is compact(er) than my old Canon 550D because the best photos are taken with a camera that is with me, not the one that I left home. But I don't want to just update my smartphone.

I do occasionally want to go close to subjects without walking right next to them, so I would need a separate lens for that. But as I wouldn't get that much money from trading my Canon (50-60 euros), one option could be that I buy a new lens to replace my Tamron 18-270mm which I've dropped too many times. It works, until it doesn't. Try again tomorrow.

I'm not brand loyal. As a matter a fact, I wouldn't mind changing to some other brand than Canon because I like trying new things.

Most likely the camera that I choose to buy at some point in the future will be something from the 800 to 1500 euros price range. 2000 would have to be really outstanding.

Unless I suddenly inherit a larger amount of money, then it's Hasselblad all the way, and as I'm walking to the shop I repeat to myself: "I need 50 megapixels, I neeeeeeeeed 50 megapixels." Or as some Finns might say: mökäpikseleitä. That word has a built in opinion about trying to be awesome photographer just spending enough money to tech, without actual photographing skills. You know the people who say to, for example, a wedding photographer: "Sure you get awesome photos because you have so good camera." without realizing that with that sentence they ignore the years and years of training and the acquired skill on how to get those awesome photos that that particular customer wants. The knowledge of where to stand, how to use the existing light and the moment when to take the best photo ever.

Anyway. I need a new camera.

I neeeeeeeeed a new camera.

I wan't a new camera.

I need new toys!

Something that does a little bit of this and a little bit of that. Compact, but not too compact. And lenses or course. After yesterday I thought that I had my options narrowed down to perhaps two or three camera models and lens options. But then I got this link: https://www.dpreview.com and now I have no idea what I want. As it's pretty easy to compare different cameras, this also brings more options to the table.

I have no idea what I want anymore and if I wonder too long, the used ones are long gone, gone, gone.

IMG_5118_1.jpg
Photo: CC BY-SA 4.0 - gallery.insaneworks.fi
Camera: Canon EOS 550D - Shutter Speed: 1/250 sec - Aperture: f/4.5 - ISO Sensitivity: 100
Location: Sastamala, Karkku Railway station, Finland

Fortunately new ones will come, but how much will it cost me?


Are tracks some sort of roads? Could it be understood so? Anyway, I will take my chances and submit these photos to Neoxian City Photo Challenge, theme: ROAD VIEW. https://steempeak.com/neoxianphotochallenge/@zaku/neoxian-city-photo-challenge

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Your body is not bad and it would be wise to then focus on a better lens would be awesome to get a 70-300 f2.8 :) lol I personally really like 18-135 but you already have one of the better multiuse zoom lenses with your 18-270 , so if you don't need that close as much maybe the 70-300 is a good upgrade with a tad better quality paired with an 18-135 and a 24mm or something https://store.canon.fi/canon-ef-s-24mm-f-2-8-stm-lens/9522B005/ .... or or just get the Nikon P1000 for now :) https://pricespy.co.uk/camera-photo/digital-compact-cameras/nikon-coolpix-p1000--p4863652

Your body is not bad

Thanks man! I workout! Occasionally and unintentionally but still, I do.

Yeah, I want those. All!

I need to read this again when I'm less tired. I'm on the same page re getting a new camera.. Low to no budget and a desire for something better than my ten year old 10mp Canon 1000d slr with one extra (faulty) Tamron 70-300mm lens.....decisions decisions... 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

If you find a camera store that sells used cameras, that could save you. :)

Thank you insaneworks! You've just received an upvote of 35% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Hahaha, too funny! I have two DSLR cameras and firmly believe everyone needs a new camera, myself included! Or at least definitely a new lens.

Posted using Partiko Android

:) Thanks.

New and old, all kinds of gadgets are always appreciated here.

I don't think I need a new camera, but I'm thinking of getting some lens with a longer range...

"Sure you get awesome photos because you have so good camera."

Voin vaan kuvitella sen tonnin setelin valokuvaajan naamalla, kun joku menee noin sanomaan, hahaha!

Eeeeeeverybody needs a new camera. :D

Well, actually the guy in Kameratori said that it's wiser to put more money to lenses than to the camera alone. So getting a new lens is a wise decision.

Ne on varmaan niitä samoja vähättelijöitä jotka vähättelis ihan mitä tahansa ammattikuntaa. Ja kaikenlaiseen kommenttiin varmaan tottuu jossain vaiheessa kun takana on riittävästi vuosia.

Kysyin muuten Kameratorin tyypiltä että miksi Leica on niin paljon hintavampi kuin muut vastaavat ja se, vaikka myönsi olevansa myös Leica fanaatikko, sanoi että se on se nimi vain ja itseasiassa se on ihan kamala käyttää. Se on samanlainen statusjuttu kuin vaikka Rolex. Jos haluaa kellon mikä toimii hyvin, ei välttämättä kannata ottaa Rolexia. Sillä saa vaan lisävakuuttavuutta tietyissä piireissä vaikkei se välttämättä paras kello olekaan. Sama Leicalla. Ja kun mä olin just aatellu että pitäiskö sitten säästää siihen muutamaan tonniin asti jotta sais Leican. Mutta emmä sitten, kun kerran alan ja Leica kameroiden harrastaja jopa sanoo että se on huonompi kuin vastaavat muut merkit. Ja koska yritän muutenkin olla mahdollisimman vähän muotia tai käyttää arvostettuja brändejä, en ehkä kuitenkaan olisi sitä Leicaa hankkinut. Kiva ajatusleikki, mutta en mä nyt mitään kameroiden Rolexia haluiskaan. :D

Joo, oon kans kuullu et objektiivit ne merkkaa enemmän ku ite kamera.

Leica... En oo ees kuullu. Taitaa olla aika pienien piirien statusrunkkausta, kun ei minullekaan sano mitään. Rolexin sentään tietää melkein kaikki.

Posted using Partiko Android

I got a compact camera with a great zoom and that's it. Any bigger than this and I would always left it at home. So, what's the point?

eSteem doesn't downsize your photos. I think that's a fair trade for the 10% they keep from my posts. After all, those Amazon Servers are not free.

Compact cameras are awesomely compact, but at some point, I just crave for something more. But I agree with you, too much stuff or too big a size or too heavy a camera takes in these smartphone ages just too much effort.

No, I don't. This one is big enough already. 😊

Hi @insaneworks!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.220 which ranks you at #8951 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 27 places in the last three days (old rank 8978).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 154 contributions, your post is ranked at #60.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79