Grasping at the shadows

“Beware lest you lose the substance by grasping at the shadow” Aesop.

Over 2600 years since Aseop wrote down his proverbs and we seem to be grasping at more shadows than ever. Enjoying things that are real rather than fantasy becomes harder as the illusions become ever more sophisticated in the electronic age. I realise there is more than a touch of hypocrisy in posting this quote up when over 80k people are following my shadow across various forms of social media. I guess I hope that some imagery can lead people to extrospection and more engagement with the world around them rather than less. As someone who suffers from excessive amounts of introspection; it’s hard for me to be sure about this. I struggle with this even as to how much time I should spend editing my work and sharing it with people verses just being out there and and experiencing more of what the world has to offer. I have not been doing a lot of editing recently and I think this is part of it.

I had just managed to park my car and catch literally the last few seconds of smoky alpenglow on Mount Hood when I took this shot handheld with a 400mm lens. Hood sits at 3,429 m (11,249 ft) altitude and forms part of the Cascade Volcanic Arc. Mount Hood National Forest, Northern Oregon. USA.

MtHood.jpg

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here.

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

Howdy sir intrepidphotos! Perfect timing, absolutely stunning!

Thanks mate. Glad to see your still here and steeming

Yes sir and I still see your amazing posts but not as often but I'm determined to change that! Have a great weekend!

Thanks. You too !

If not for people that make photos and videos I wouldn’t see nearly as much of the works as I have because travelling is prohibitive at worst and difficult at best.

That colour change is so pretty, watching it turn blue must have been pretty cool too.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the insight. Sad to hear that you are unable to travel.

Great composition and stunning combination of colors. Very unusual warm/cold feeling

Manually curated by PhotoStreem: The Photography Tribe
Join Photostreem DISCORD
Follow the Trail

banner_1-Axe.jpg

Thanks mate. Appreciate the support.

Hi @intrepidphotos!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.375 which ranks you at #711 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 90 contributions, your post is ranked at #34.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Outstandingly beautiful @intrepidphotos! :-) What it must of been like
to of been there in person, so gorgeous, such a incredible mountain!
The colors changing with the elevation and the snow patches of patterns!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60463.70
ETH 2889.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59