Hogwash Bend Camping

in #photography6 years ago

My dad, @realtreebivvy, and I went camping at Hogwash Bend. I mostly went for the photos, but my dad went for the fishing. He has a bit of his fishing in a post from a previous visit a while back here: https://steemit.com/fishing/@realtreebivvy/7sgejy-fishing-south-australia

This is the first time I've been camping for a few months, maybe even a year. We left on the 8th which was a Saturday and stayed for the weekend. Leaving at 7 am, we picked up my grandad on the way then headed down, meeting a few of my dad's fishing friends there. Two hours later we arrived and managed to find a spot among the other campers which were already there. Since it's starting to warm up quite a few people want to go before fire ban season and have a campfire. I think everyone had a campfire that evening.

Upon arrival, we began to prep up the stuff. This, for me, was pulling out the camera and finding the best and comfiest viewpoint. Just sitting in the back of the car was nice, with the window down. I lay there until I spotted something then looked out and took a photo. While I was set up in the car, everyone else was busily setting up fishing gear and sleeping areas for the evening. Time went by, with a bit of talking when things were slow and it was very relaxed and peaceful. At about 12 pm we had a lovely array of meats, cheese, bread and other sides set up by my dad's friend.

DSC_0278.JPG

DSC_0282.JPG

Before long the food chomped and everyone enjoyed it. It was probably the most gourmet camping meal I've ever had. Later I got sent off in pursuit of sticks for fire fuel, so we could have the night's meal cooked and ready before it was too late. Everyone ended up joining this campfire building time, as most of the sticks in the area had already been gathered by other campers, meaning they were surprisingly rare. When building the campfire a little gecko ran out, luckily avoiding being cooked with the rest of the sticks. Phew!

I overexposed these photos without realizing oops!
DSC_0272.jpg

DSC_0269.jpg

I set it free on the tree for a new home
DSC_0275.JPG

There were quite a few pelicans and ducks around, some other birds too.

DSC_0243.JPG

DSC_0251.JPG

DSC_0263.JPG

And @rustle will be pleased to know that even a few Sulpher crested cockatoos were spotted!
DSC_0230.JPG

DSC_0232.JPG

When night came I grabbed my tripod out and that was when I got some of my best photos. I had my shutter speed at 30" Which is 30 seconds and ISO about 800 with aperture about 5, letting in as much light as possible.

DSC_0317.JPG

DSC_0326.JPG

DSC_0313.JPG

Lots of campfire stories were told, then off to bed for a good sleep. Next morning was quite cold, so we lit the campfire once again and had a breakfast of eggs, beans, bacon and bread. We stayed till about 12 pm then headed home.

DSC_0346.JPG

DSC_0409.JPG

Mini waves from when a boat sped by
DSC_0413.JPG

Sort:  

So well posted. Thank you so much a great post.

really nice pictures

@amandaclarke fondly remembers camping at hogwash when she was your age.
I loved the night sky through the silhouette of the trees. Lovely shot. Takes me back to a couple of houseboat trips.
@rustle is making his way from Sydney up to Cairns over the next little while; then across to Darwin and back down to Adelaide. Trying to stay one step ahead of the authorities :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by minismallholding from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello @izzydawn, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24