"The Half World"

in #photography6 years ago

I named this picture after the self titled song by "The Best Pessimist". I find it particularly fitting. I warmly recommend you to give it an ear (it compliments this picture quite well).

I captured this long exposure in the Carribean, more precisely in Antigua on Darkwood beach, during a particularly exquisite sunset.
I would be lying if I were to say that I did not struggle to get that shot, as I had to climb onto the reef and watch out for the incoming waves. Thinking back, it was a lot of fun!

DSC_0822-Edit-3.jpg

"The Half World" - youtube.com/watch?v=1Np7rqSePTg

For the curious.

  • Nikon D5500
  • Sigma 18-35 f/1.8
  • Shot at 18mm, f/8, 1/15th of a second.
  • Post processing : Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop, for the picture stacking because I don't have an ND filter strong enough (yes I'm poor, and black... Those two go hand in hand... Unfortunately, it is an immutable truth and reality of this world we live in - "Did he really say that?!" Yes, I did :D)

Hope that I have not offended too many of you guys (Lies, again... I'm being black. I hope that I did trigger y'all). I know, I'm an asshole, I'm being told everyday :D (and nope, I'm not racist, I can't be... Because I'm black! :D).
And most of all, I hope that you'll enjoy this piece, and that I'll be able to get your mind wandering a bit, and a little smile from you (if not, at least a cringy rictus :))

Have a good one!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-16T11:48:45
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 6.50/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I like this long exposure, I congratulate you

Thanks!
Really appreciate, it means a lot. Btw, sick work man!

Welcome to Steemit :) You made the right decision to start sharing your photos in this platform. It's still in beta so bare with the occasional buggy experience. Anyway, it's still the best platform that you could have, I can guarantee that from my 6 months experience here.

Cheers,
@funtraveller

By the way, you may use #photocircle tag in your future posts :) We curate & reward amazing authors / photographers like you.

P.S. do check out these groups / communities as well:

@curie
@photofeed
@petals
@photomatic
@travelfeed
@ocd-resteem
@adsactly
@minnowsupport

Check on their requirements if you want to get featured on their feed. Some of them also have discord group where in you can chat with their members. I wish you all the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71315.89
ETH 3677.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76