Plant Power - The Benefits of Sage and Smudging

| Sage |

When I was first introduced to the world of energy healing, I remember thinking that the concept of "smudging" or clearing negative energies was odd and my skeptical scientist brain was shouting "woo woo" at me. It seemed to me that the smoke was more for dramatic effect than anything else, and while I could acknowledge that setting the scene and atmosphere is important for theatrical purposes, I couldn't see how it could have any kind of physical benefits. It's funny to look back and realize how close-minded I was and it's also encouraging to see how far I've come.

I now use smudging practices regularly, usually in preparation for my tuning sessions with clients, but also for personal practices like meditation. Sage is one of my favourite herbs to burn for this purpose. There are many different varieties, and at the moment I'm only really experienced with using White Sage. Once I opened myself up to the possibility that there could be real benefits to be had from smudging, I quickly discovered some interesting things about it.

sage.jpg

In Latin, this plant is called "Salvia", meaning "to be saved". Burning this sacred and powerful herb has long been used as a way to clear negative energies in preparation for rituals and healing practices. This is ancient wisdom that the Western world is just beginning to acknowledge.

From a scientific standpoint, we are learning that Sage has potent antibacterial properties and helps to purify the air when burned. So, in addition to energetic benefits, it has physical ones as well. Connecting ancient wisdom with modern understanding is the way forward, in my opinion.

Check out this recent peer-reviewed article about the antibacterial effects of Sage extract.

Do you use Sage in your personal or healing practices?

Stay tuned ;)

Jackie O

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99