The beautiful issue with film photographysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago

There's one thing in particular that I both love and loathe about shooting on film; the fact that you don't know how exactly the shots are going to turn out. Sometimes, after development, they come back more stunning and unique than I had ever would have imagined. Other times, the photos come back so dull and grainy that it's hard to see what's in the frame. It feels like a gamble that never fails to keep me excited to see the photos I created.

I recently developed two rolls of 35mm film and every single photo turned out with a major fault. Unbeknownst to me, my shutter was slightly broken and didn't completely open when I took photographs, which caused part of every frame to be completely blacked out. I was disappointed, trying to imagine what the photographs could be had the whole frame been visible.

Then I really looked into the photos, beyond the mistakes, and saw the photos for what they really are. Unique pieces of art. "Everything happens for a reason." I told myself. And now, to be honest, I'm completely happy with how these last two rolls turned out. The black line didn't erase that much of every frame. Whatever is meant to be included in the frame is.

Alright, why don't we let's take a look at the photos? Try to use your imagination to fill in the rest of each frame.

All taken in Calfornia on a Nikon N60 35mm film camera. Unedited.

The lesson that we can pull from this is that sometimes mistakes are beautiful. Mistakes can make something unique. It's better to concentrate on the good aspects of what we have than to dwell on the negative. Anyways,

Thank you for checking out my photos!

I appreciate that you made it all the way through and would appreciate even more if you'd upvote and comment any thoughts, feedback, or opinions you have. :)

I'm getting a new camera soon, so expect a lot of new content from me in the near future. I took a short hiatus from Steemit but now I am back and ready to keep the daily content flowing.

Thanks again,

Jake

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67