EPIC Hot Air Balloon Ride Photography

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

balloon-22.jpg

I have dreamed of going up in a hot air balloon for years. Last winter, I got the chance - thanks to a birthday gift from my partner.

balloon-21.jpg

We were up before dawn, when winds are most calm.

balloon-24.jpg

balloon-25.jpg

balloon-20.jpg

balloon-23.jpg

balloon.jpg

The balloon was massive! I was captivated. There's our captain, fillin 'er up with hot air.

balloon-19.jpg

balloon-2.jpg

The geometry of the thing was awe inspiring. More than any other symbol, the hot air balloon represents human achievement in a way I can really relate to: astonishing, dangerous, a little silly.

balloon-5.jpg

balloon-6.jpg

balloon-3.jpg

It was so peaceful up there, sometimes I felt we were barely moving. Seeing the world from above is something else, a real joy. Picture above: happy fellow travelers we shared the ride with.

balloon-7.jpg

balloon-8.jpg

balloon-10.jpg

balloon-11.jpg

balloon-12.jpg

We moved up and down in the sky, and we got blown around - pretty much at the wind's will. Despite all that propane we were burning up, we were never really in control.

balloon-13.jpg

balloon-14.jpg

There's my querida, @brookeporter, who surprised me with the birthday flight.

balloon-15.jpg

balloon-17.jpg

The geometry of civilization: parallel lines, rectangles, boxes... unlike our magical spherical hot air balloon.

balloon-18.jpg

balloon-16.jpg

All pictures were taken on 35mm camera with color slide film. Honestly, it was not easy for me to set down the camera - I even brought a medium format 120mm camera too! Funny looking back at 5, 6, however many pictures of fire in the balloon.

What an amazing ride - if you ever get a chance I highly recommend it.

Sort:  

Hello, @jaredwood! The pictures are really cool and the experience must have been unique. What camera do you use? (I have an old soviet camera, FED-5B that my boyfriend purchased from a flea market in Bucharest)

Hi @diana.architect! I use an old Olympus 35 SP that was given to me... it's a rangefinder, so sometimes focusing is a challenge, but I love the clarity of the images. Also I like to use color slide film, which I think makes a huge difference.

That's a really nice camera! More complex than mine. And yes, I think slide film really makes a difference, but only if you are familiar with it, otherwise is just a pain in the ass. I like it because of the bright colors and high contrast range.

hi @jaredwood, what a beautiful experience. awesome images.

what a wonderful view.
the first shoots looks some what other worldly even do its just the hull haha.

This post has received a 11.09 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @jaredwood.

Great images. Love the grain in the photos.

Thanks! Gotta love film.

Just don't have time for it anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56