Out of the Ordinary.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Since I started sharing photos daily, I struggled with the challenge of constant content creation. It's not an easy task to keep producing quality images without running into creative block. To get over this, I try to remember four things:

DSCF7113.JPG

1. Go out.

This is not an easy feat for an introvert like me but this is a must. The world will not knock on your door, you have to step out.

Back when I was just starting, I would always look forward to vacations and trips so that I would have opportunities to see new things. This worked for some time but eventually, my photo collection dwindled as days passed. I realized that going on adventures can be as simple as integrating your workflow with your day-to-day activities. I just made it a point to bring at least one good image home.

DSCF7014.JPG

2. Bring a camera

This is simple. Without a camera you have no takeaway.

It is true that experiencing things with your naked eye is priceless, but it is also fulfilling to immortalize moments that will never happen again. When these moments happen, you have to be ready and you have to have the right tool in hand. Again, always bring a camera.

DSCF7137.JPG

3. Remember that each day is different.

It is when we're in a strange place that our eyes are most open. When we're lost and everything seems unfamiliar, it is so easy to find interesting things. But when we deal with the familiar, we tend to lower our expectations and sometimes even neglect the possibility of surprises. We have to remember that each day, no matter how boringly repetitive things might seem, some things will always be different.

DSCF7164.JPG

4. Beautiful things hide in plain sight.

Sometimes, I get disappointed when I start doing photo walks and encounter nothing. I get even more frustrated as my feet start to ache and my shoulder begins to feel the weight of the camera. You know what I do? I pause, breathe, and then I simply push through until somehow, I get by. I know that luck plays a part in what I do, but so does patience and being observant.

You have to remember that the anticipation of seeing the extraordinary should not keep you from seeing the beautiful things that hide in plain sight. Little things can be very interesting when seen in a different angle. You just have to keep your eyes open. Don't get disheartened when you find it hard to see the gems around you. You will only end up with nothing once you stop looking.

DSCF3874.jpg

Remember to have fun! There is no point doing what you do if you're not happy doing it. Keep shooting! :)

I shoot mostly black and white images. My tool is Fujifilm's X-Pro2. Images are JPGs taken straight from the camera.

All images © Jay Cadayona 2017
All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

I must say I am really impressed with your post. As a photographer on a hiatus, I connect with these bits of nuggets at a very deep level, and I hope to be picked up (to whatever height) by it. You are amazing! Following you.

Thank you so much for dropping by and reading this post! I struggle with this all the time, hopefully I get lucky and get better with what I do... or least help others who get stuck as well. I hope you find something to inspire you pick up your camera again. There can never be too much photographers running around. Beautiful imagery definitely outnumber us. Following you back!

Good tips about photography @jaymonochrome. What makes you prefer black and white photos to color if I may ask?

Thanks for asking. I love color too, but I prefer shooting black and white because the viewer focuses more on what's happening within the narrative. I also like leading the eyes with shadows and shapes, both more apparent in monochromatic images :)

I like your blog. I Resteemed your post.

thank you! i'll check out your blig too.I'd appreciate it if you follow :)

This is a lovely series of photos! Great work! If you have some free time I would really appreciate if you would check out my photos! Keep it up! :-)

Thank you very much! I appreciate the kind words. I'll definitely visit your blog. :)

yes they are :) thanks for reading the post!

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @curie valued at 46.58 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Congratulations @jaymonochrome! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

you earned me there on the last image.. that is one cool shot! Your name sounds filipino-ish .. bw photos are awesome!

hi @junebride ! Yes, I am filipinio. Thank you so much for dropping by. I'll make sure to visit your blog as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63475.87
ETH 3121.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87