Geiger-Style Roots on the Chatsworth Estate, England - The 'Ridiculous Roots' Challenge

in #photography4 years ago (edited)

rootschatsworth2.jpg
'Geigeresque Roots on the Chatsworth Estate' by Jay Taylor

Hey Steemians! The photo above is my entry into @kus-knee 'The Old Dog's current challenge - 'Ridiculous Roots'.


Here's the Challenge remit as described in the original post: "Trees are amazing but we usually only see them from the trunk up. The roots are often where the real action is. Especially when they emerge to the surface clinging and grabbing!

Your assignment in this contest is to show me some Ridiculous Roots!"


Hopefully, the challenge host will appreciate my 'twist' on the theme... I do have more 'typical' shots in my porfolio but I just think these Geigeresque roots deserve a public airing...So much so, in fact, that I will add a few more shots with different processing effects for added value and interest:

rootschatsworth3.jpg
'Geigeresque Roots on the Chatsworth Estate - 2' by Jay Taylor


rootschatsworth4.jpg
'Geigeresque Roots on the Chatsworth Estate - 3' by Jay Taylor


rootschatsworth5.jpg
'Geigeresque Roots on the Chatsworth Estate - 4' by Jay Taylor


rootschatsworth6.jpg
'Geigeresque Roots on the Chatsworth Estate - 5' by Jay Taylor


rootschatsworth7.jpg
'Geigeresque Roots on the Chatsworth Estate - 6' by Jay Taylor


Note: I don't have a proper shot of the fallen tree from which the root shot was snapped, because the bigger picture was completely lost on me - I was so excited and it was ALL ABOUT those root formations! However, I do have a snapshot of my sister taking a photo of it, as I approached:

rootschatsworth.jpg
'Sis' Snapping the Fallen Tree' by Jay Taylor


Fingers crossed and all the best to my fellow entrants!

With love,

Jay xx


I hope you've enjoyed this post. As an independent, self-employed, self-financing creative (and radically unschooling single Mama), your support, kind-ness, and appreciation of my always-original content are most welcome! Please feel free to comment, upvote, Resteem or otherwise share this post if you feel called to do so.


All photos are original work by me, Jay Taylor Art

Sort:  

Manually curated by the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you 💖

I spent 28 working on the roads, and a massive proportion of that time was doing tree work, and along with that 24/7 oncall for emergence tree work.
I can't even count how many times we had trees down from the weight and underdeveloped root system from x amount of years of dry weather, and also there would be times on the road when cruising in the mountains looking at the massive root balls sticking out of the side of the hill that the dirt had been eroded away for a good part of the bank under the tree. At first that's what I thought you had photographed.
Beautiful photos, every one of them.
Thanks for sharing!

Thank you, James. And you're welcome 💖 I really don't know what happened to this tree to make it fall, although it's hard to imagine that it would 'years of dry weather', here in the UK 😅But as you can see from the last photo of it in situ, it was over on its side, and there was actually another one lying prone a little ways from it, too... Who knows! The Duke and Duchess of Devonshire's Estates team, I guess! xx

One of the other ways for it to come down like that is for the ground to be saturated underneath the tree, I've also seen that as well up in the Santa Cruz Mountains

Well, now THAT sounds likely in wet, wet, wet Derbyshire! 😅 Thanks, James! x

Rooting systems grab your attention, big trees held in the ground, sometimes herbal or medical, now intriguing when the old tree fell over.

Awesome photographic post, lovely area for photography hope you enjoy more than being overwhelmed in the shape of these gorgeous roots.

No 6 looks like two figures sitting on a log or rowing boat, delving deep into the earth. Good luck!

Thank you, Joan - they are intriguing, for sure, and lots to see in terms of 'hidden pictures'. They really remind me of the structures and physiology from the 'Alien' movies, or paintings by Kurt Geiger - fascinating! And yes, Chatsworth is a stunning venue for a walk. A lovely afternoon was had by all, and I promise that I drank in every moment! xx

Nature reveals amazing things, we don't see half of what is around us to enjoy. Little imagination goes a long way, have a lovely day.

Congratulations @jaytaylor! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Yay me! Thanks for letting me know, Steemitboard 🙌

I love your photos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82