My 'Baby' Turns 18 on the day the World Shuts Down...

in #photography4 years ago (edited)

ravensleepingangelnewborn.jpg
'My Sleeping Angel' by Jay Taylor

18cardthumbnail.jpg


At 08:52 on 21st March 2002, Raven and I first looked into each others' eyes and my being changed at a cellular level. From that moment to this, I have seen the world through a mother's eyes. And I have loved this remarkable human being with a heart cracked wide open in that moment.

ravenjaynewborn.jpg

My beloved Raven. We were both so innocent in this photograph. You were conceived before I had any idea what I was bringing you forth into...

As the clock turned 08:52 yesterday, I found myself trying to get my logical head and this mother's heart around the fact that somehow Raven and I both turned 18 in '1984'...

(For those of you who have yet to read George Orwell's novel of that name, it's my 'recommended read' for today. And not the movie, people, please - the message is best delivered undiluted and at full strength in order to be absorbed and reach to your core).

ravengasmask.jpg
A little Birthday humour from Raven


In our 18 years together, Raven and I have shared so much sorrow along with our joy. We've stood in solidarity through it all. And everything we've seen from that day to this - no matter how contrary much of it it may appear - has given me an unshakeable faith in the inherent goodness of Life. As long as we continue to honour and nourish that goodness as it flows through us in all of its forms, we embrace the darkness and transmute it into beauty and depth with the power of loving acceptance.

Though life may break our hearts on occasion, our spirit is never bowed. We simply become a living work of Kintsukuroi. We have each other, now and forever, into eternity, my now-adult child. Nothing and no body can ever take away the soul-connection we share and the loving respect we have for each other.

And THAT, my Best Beloved, is all that matters.

The World of Man is unreliable, but LOVE is always here.

💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙

❤️ ❤️ ❤️

With love,

Jay


I hope you've enjoyed this post. As an independent, self-employed, self-financing creative (and radically unschooling single Mama), your support, kind-ness, and appreciation of my always-original content are most welcome! Please feel free to comment, upvote, Resteem or otherwise share this post if you feel called to do so.

All photos are original work by me, Jay Taylor Art.

Sort:  

I love the name "Raven"!
And ravens are a corvid... only one extra letter from "covid".

And there's a band called 'Corvus Corax' (the Latin name for the Raven) who are totally kickass - if we're going to go worldly 'connections', that's my choice, @dullhawk 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67