You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chasing the Magic Bullet Again with the Upcoming Sony A7III

in #photography6 years ago

I'm a big Sony fan, but these mirrorless systems are so incredibly bad with battery life. My biggest pet peeve. I shoot a lot of weddings, photo AND video (mostly photos) and recently sold my old A7 mkI because of the battery life and so I now I'm playing around with the new Fuji's to try something new. I kid you not, but even when shooting photos only, I still kill 3 - 4 batteries on a wedding day. Not even talking video yet. I'm really keen to see how this new A7III compares. I know it's not as important to everyone, but it becomes a stupid annoyance after a while. Wish I could at least try the mkII that you own.

Sort:  

I agree. Battery life really sucks on the A7II. This is why I got excited when they mentioned it has 10x more battery life than its predecessor.

Oh wow! I missed that part. Thanks for bringing it to my attention. Now that's something that'll change my mind again. Good battery life + IBIS + my vintage lenses = a very happy shooter. I prefer manual focus for my videos, so I don't mind the trade-off. Might just get a proprietary lens for photos, something like a 24-70 all-rounder. Again, thanks for mentioning it. Will strongly consider the mkIII. Now just the question of high-ISO noise... :D

The ISO has "supposedly" improved on this sensor as well. I'm happy with my 24-240mm, it took 80% of my photos you see on Steemit.

Completely forgot about that versatile lens and with the images looking very good, it's certainly worth looking into, especially if planning on being the only proprietary lens (I can't afford slow or bad focus-ing with an adapter). Thanks again, Bud. I knew I'm following you for good reason, not just the good photos. Haha. I should really stop being lazy and upload some as well. In a decent blog post of course

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84