[Photo essay]36 pictures to the memory of a sold camera. Part 1 —[图说] 用36张照片怀念一台相机 第一部分

in #photography6 years ago

I would not call myself a nostalgic individual. However sometimes in life when you lose an object that has been with you for a long time. There will always be a moment the inner self will say "oh, I wish I didn't sell that camera......... "

不敢说自己是一个很怀旧的人,但有时候生命中失去了一个长期陪伴的物品。总会有个瞬间会突然想, “啊,如果那台相机没被我卖掉就好了……”

L1017112.jpg
leica M9 01

这次准备把图说分为三个部分,每个部分12张图,一共36张。也正好代表了我在英国南部的高中时期,伦敦的大学时期,以及回国之后的时间。

In the series, I have divided selected 36 images into three parts. Each part contains 12 images that represent three part of my life documented with this camera.
High school in southern England(part 1), University in London(part 2), Time in China(part 3)

协和学院 concord college (high school)

这台M9是我的第一台Leica,当时老爸说,如果GCSE(英国中考)分数不错,就奖励我一台心仪的相机。当时也是铆足了劲,所有的手机屏幕和电脑屏保都全部换成了M9的美照,最后自我激励的效果也不错,算是勉强达到老爸的标准。

This Leica M9 is the first Leica I have ever owned. Back then my dad promised me a reward if I surpassed his standards on my GCSE grades. Once he made the promise, I changed all my cell phone and laptop wallpapers to the Leica M9. The self-motivation ended pretty well, grades looked more than enough for the "reward" to come true.

但就和所有父母的承诺一样,最后变现的时候阻力不是一般的大。老爸看了价格过后直接甩一句“你年纪这么小,用这么贵的相机不太好吧…..” 直接果断否决了。

Like all promises parents made, when it comes to fulfilling the promise, the resistance is always stronger than you expected. My dad looked at the price tag immediately turned down my suggestion. "it's too expensive for your age..... Nah....."

我一怒之下熬夜整夜,整理了30多页的PPT,从Leica最初的历史,到影响世界摄影的135mm规格,再到使用Leica的摄影巨师,所创的作品解析,最后涉及到摄影的人文角度与情怀……老爸听了快一个小时没怎么说话。 最后我都口干舌燥,即将放弃时,老爸终于打破了沉默。

“那哪里可以买?我先买来玩玩,到时候借给你用”

Driven by the frustration of being turned​ down, I stayed up all night and came up with a 30 pages power point, introduced Leica's history from the beginning, then explained the standard 35mm film type then followed with detailed analysis on the iconic images which took by Leica cameras, finally ended the presentation on the ideology and spirit of documentary/street photography.

Nearly an hour had passed with my dad in pure silence, then he said "where can we get this camera? I will buy one for myself and later you can borrow it for some fun."

当然老爸也只是开玩笑,我至今都还很感谢他,能为我的爱好提供支持。

Of course, dad was only joking. Till this day, I am still very thankful for his support on my passion for photography.
Because of his support and trust. I started my journey with the Leica M9.

I would not say that without the Leica my passion for photography will be any less yet the style and approach​ of shooting will definitely be dramatically different.

L1001413-编辑.jpg
Leica M9 02

L1002897-编辑.jpg
Leica M9 03

L1000868-编辑.jpg
Leica M9 04

L1009434.jpg
Leica M9 05

L1009600.jpg
Leica M9 06

L1003395-编辑.jpg
Leica M9 07

L1010088.jpg
Leica M9 08

L1011647-编辑.jpg
Leica M9 09

L1015168.jpg
Leica M9 10

L1019829.jpg
Leica M9 11

L1017368.jpg
Leica M9 12

当然这12张照片不能完全代表我的高中时代,但是对我个人而言,每一张照片都存留着一刻的回忆。感谢这台M9的陪伴。也请期待第二部分的12张照片。

These 12 images definitely will not represent the whole high school period yet personally​, ​ each image contains the memory of that particular​ moment. I am thankful for the Leica is there for me to capture the time which I will never be able​ to go back to.

This is the ​end of​ part 1 of 3, thank you for reading. If you enjoyed the photos and the story please leave an​ upvote and maybe some comments. I appreciate all the support and suggestions​.


最近的文章/ Recent posts

[Visual essay] Road trip with family, France./ [图说]同家人一起的公路旅行。法国
https://steemit.com/cn/@jeffreysxy/visual-essay-road-trip-with-family-france

[Visual essay] Mr Owen’s double-barrelled shotgun/ [图说] 老欧文的双管猎枪
https://steemit.com/photography/@jeffreysxy/visual-essay-mr-owen-s-double-barrelled-shotgun

Year-long renovation project with Shangjiu ceramic workshop 2017年上九陶瓷工作室改造记录
https://steemit.com/photography/@jeffreysxy/year-long-renovation-project-with-shangjiu-ceramic-workshop-2017


PS. English isn't my native language​ if you could correct my grammar and spelling down in​ the comment section that would be amazing​!

Find me on Instagram​ @jeffreysxy https://www.instagram.com/jeffreysxy/

Sort:  

照片好赞...
去年才买了自己的第一台相机,到现在都还在努力学习入门中...

加油加油 多拍多积累就好了!

Thank you so much! Will post regularly!

新年快乐!cn区点赞机器人 @cnbuddy 这厢有礼了。假如我的留言打扰到你,请回复“取消”。

Congratulations @jeffreysxy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70880.42
ETH 3658.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75