The Exposure Triangle, Facetime & SleepsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Last night I received a call from my cousin (in a different time zone) who recommended that I buy the Canon 80 D. We had not spoken at length since I have been using my camera. He wanted to know how I was coming along and I told him that I was learning through trial and error but that I had signed up for a photography class that starts this month.

My cousin started asking me all sorts of questions about my photographs, the exposure and ISO settings I was using, etc. I had to tell him that I was basically using it more or less as a “point and shoot” unless I came across some feature accidentally that I was able to repeat. He started telling me to take some pictures while he was talking to me and then asked me how they looked. Of course, I couldn't describe intelligently what I was looking at to his satisfaction, so he asked if I had Facetime. I replied in the affirmative and thus began my photography tutorial using Facetime and my camera while I sat in bed trying to stay awake.

xr0s5bfrzy.jpg

The only thing that I had close to me was the remains of some lemon ginger tea in a mug on my night stand. I took several pictures of it along with some other stuff that I cropped out of the picture. :)

I ended up taking pictures as he directed me, and then changing settings on my camera that I didn't even know existed. At one point, I could tell that I was just following instructions, but I was not comprehending everything. He told me to Goggle and master "The Exposure Triangle" and I would have enough information to take wonderful pictures and not have to worry about using the manual setting on my camera.

He also strongly suggested that I buy Photoshop for editing my pictures instead of trying to use the software that came with the camera. He told me that it only costs $10 a month. Well, I am retired and used to buying software at educational discount prices, and I don't want another monthly bill. I told him that another photographer had suggested that I use a "free" editing software named Gimp. https://www.gimp.org/

Since I am still such a novice at using my camera, my photos are not worth investing in editing software to make them better. I didn't tell my cousin that though, because he was being so helpful. When I started visibly yawning as he went into greater detail on the knobs, buttons, and settings on the camera, he finally said, "You just need to come visit me and I will be able to give you some one-on-one instruction and have you using your camera with confidence in no time." We said our goodbyes until later.

When I woke up this morning, I kept trying to remember what it was he told me to Goggle. I did remember the word triangle, so I googled photography triangle and the exposure triangle came up as a suggestion. Thank goodness for Google! I read an excellent article by Alex Cooke with illustrations about how you use aperture, ISO and shutter speed to take quality pictures.

fq1bt071g6.jpg

https://fstoppers.com/education/exposure-triangle-understanding-how-aperture-shutter-speed-and-iso-work-together-72878

The article was informative and helped me understand what my cousin was talking about last night while I was nodding off trying to stay awake. I was not bored at all, I was just sleepy. I know that I would benefit from visiting my cousin, but it would not be a day trip. I will have to plan on spending a couple of nights because I haven't visited him in a long while and I also have other relatives in the area that I would have to make time to see.

I know that once I start taking my photography class in a structured environment where I can ask questions and get assistance with "my" camera, that my learning curve won't be so steep. I looked at posts this morning where the photographers included their settings with their pictures and I realized that it made a little more sense to me. I'm learning. :)

kfz7b6l754.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for the tip on the exposure triangle. I'm dealing with a new camera as well, although it's still mostly a point and shoot, and I have started using GIMP to adjust the exposure, if necessary.

I downloaded Gimp too but I haven’t started using it yet.

I have used it for about 5 years but not much. Usually I was removing some resolution from pictures. It's okay. The windows version seems to work a little better than the Mac one.

Yes, photography is a true art and to become a professional you need to learn. I think you will succeed

Thank you. I think that I will too, because I intend to stick with it.

Judging by the way you know how to cook, you will also take good pictures

Thank you for your encouragement.

Thanks for the post, you have encouraged me to take a photography class to learn how to photograph food for my blog.

I know that it will help me to stay relevant. There are some amazing photographers on this platform.

I need to check out that exposure triangle thingy. Even though I take my pictures with my phone's camera, a little photography knowledge couldn't hurt. Sounds like you've got a trip to make. Good thing J Luvs 2 Fly! (^_^)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jluvs2fly from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @jluvs2fly! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 6 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 290 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hello @jluvs2fly, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you for your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94