3 days Hiking in Alpine Paradise - Brandnertal, Austria

in #photography6 years ago

Hey there! Still very early days in my steemit life, but here goes another post!

One of the first parts of my Europe trip this year was a challenging (5/6 difficulty and technical level) hike through the border area that straddles Austria, Liechtenstein and Switzerland. The highlight of this trip was a night spent at Mannheimer Hütte, which rests on a ridge between a large open section of the Brandnertal Valley (skip to 49 seconds in my video for a drone flyover of the hut and valley) and the Brandner Glacier.

IT - WAS - SPECTACULAR. Made even more impressive from the full day of hiking up a mountain across via ferrata sections and towards the end, poor weather.

The Brandner Glacier, which we traversed on the 2nd day, is in retreat, I fancy in another 20-30 years, there will not be anything left. A very real reminder that the future is sometimes scary and that you see, feel and hear all that you can, and do it now.

I had my lovely girlfriend @minimemories with me, what a beautiful specimen she is! ;) She is the one trying to get my attention as I was showing the camera our progress from day 1 moving into day 2. Bless her, she helped me through an exhausting stretch of Day 1!

693A4845EE7235340A6E475A882364D7.jpg

Sunrise inversion as seen from the Mannheimer Hütte.

B0349E32365488102948A2B5315F3148.jpg

Mannheimer Hütte as seen from my drone - notice the ridgeline that it sits on! Makes you feel small!

F1FFA612A0D4766198331ABD8ADCC5AF.JPG

Snuck in a kiss on the glacier ;)

IMG_2874.JPG

Made some new friends early on Day 1, before the going got tough!

Another successful and thoroughly enjoyable visit to Austria. Vienna is practically the only notable place that I've now not seen in Austria and I can safely say, I've not had a bad experience with anything in Austria! Other than almost everything being closed on Sundays, but you deal with that in many places in Europe :P.

Stayed tuned for more! Upvote if you enjoyed the video or anything resonated with you :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59