You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Photography: Poetics of the Ruins

in #photography5 years ago

Excuse me, kind readers. By my own mistake, when I copied and pasted the original text I left out the first paragraph, which I reproduce here below:

Since ancient times the ruins have attracted the attention of philosophers, poets and artists in general. Already original Romanticism (German, English and French) fixed its gaze on them, and turned them into symbolic objects. Think, for example, of François-René de Chateaubriand, considered the founder of French Romanticism, who in his essay Genius of Christianity (1802), rediscovered the value of medieval poetry, and with it a taste for solitude, and, by derivation, for remoteness and ruins. Let us cite it:

Sort:  

Thank you for making the correction, @josemalavem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87