Walking through La Gomera, Canary Islands I

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

This trip was spectacular by any side in which you look at it.



Leaving Madrid by the international airport of Barajas "Adolfo Suarez", 2:43 h to Tenerife Island, arriving at the Tenerife North airport, from where take a bus to Santa Cruz de Tenerife, and then take another transport that travels the island to the port of departure of Ferries to “La Gomera” known as Puerto "Los Cristianos". The trip to this port is comfortable and pleasant to do since the spectacular scenery of the island makes the journey fast.

Then I arrived at the “Los Cristianos” pier, I decided to go to where the Ferris are, the shipping company sells the tickets online and it’s super simple to arrive, from the bus stop you can walk to the pier to board.

It's so funny, because in our Latin American countries usually, pier are isolated, protected so that access is only for passengers, here I'm left with the desire to go through a control or something like that, walk to the same ramp access to the boat without problems.

My surprise was when the mega ferry arrived, a high speed, modern boat, inside it’s very comfortable and elegant for the type of journey it makes, you can’t go out on the sides you can only leave when you are sailing on the deck that’s located in the back, because it goes so fast that the wind moves you. But from inside the boat it looks perfectly out of it because the windows are panoramic.


The journey from Tenerife to “San Sebastian de La Gomera” takes about 50 minutes. From “San Sebastian de la Gomera” you have two options, make the route to “Valle Gran Rey” or “Great King Valley”, which was my destination, by land or take another smaller boat and make the journey by sea, -is the most recommended, for what you're going with suitcases, bag or backpack–



After arriving at “Valle Gran Rey” and doing everything that is normally done when arriving at a vacation place, like entering the room and accommodating all the things that are brought with me, then take some time to contemplate the view that from me I was going to stay for a few days, and you can see in the photo the incredible view that I had from the room, it was spectacular.
I set out to walk around the island, I went by land to "San Sebastian de la Gomera", there I visited several places of interest.

Visit the "Torre del Conde" or “Count's tower”, which is a very peculiar tower, actually in its beginnings was conceived as a fort, was built in 1450, the tower was used as a refuge by the nobles of that time, when they were attacked by the “Guanches”, the first inhabitants of the island.

Inside the fort or Count’s tower can be visited and different artifacts are displayed. The tower is surrounded by a park, super nice, and very well cared for, adorned are trees that give some red flowers, in Venezuela it is known as Acacias, it also has the name of the flamboyant. From the tower you can see the town hall.


Only a few minutes from the tower is the "Casa de la Aguada or the Customs House", according to what they told me, it was the first house of the landowners of the island, but the interesting thing is not that, what is more striking is that inside there is a well, which has a sign that has the following written “Con esta agua se bautizo América, año 1492”, or "with this water America was baptized, year 1492".



After doing the historical tour I set out to tour the island and see its landscapes, the island is very colorful, has many plantations of banana, as the land is dedicated mostly to the cultivation of these fruits, as I was told by They were brought from Venezuela and then planted in industrial quantities for export.


You can see modern houses as well as areas of houses that are preserved without any changes.


The sunsets on the beaches are spectacular.


The next day I had lunch at the “Palmerejo” lookout restaurant, located on top of the mountain of Great King Valley. There we enjoyed a delicious lunch that closed with a cheese salad with papaya, and orange juice, garnished with a green dressing and sweet sauce, -Exquisite-.




After there I went to what is known as "The Fortress of Chipude" a mountain with a plateau-shaped summit of 300 m in diameter. There the Guanches performed rites and also used it as a refuge.


In the image below you can see the island of “El Hierro” in the distance.


The trip was great, I had a great time.



I leave with a panoramic, a little cropped but if I cut it more would not appreciate the mountains of Great King Valley.


The trip did not end here, but as it was a little longer, I invite you to join me in a future post to follow you telling the experiences of this great trip.


A big hug.

Greetings.



All images are my property
@Jtlouis
Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me.If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

It is great to know that there are people who are interested in helping others in our community, for my part I am starting in this world of steemit, and I thank you for having voted for my publication.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jtlouis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70191.58
ETH 3817.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78