Discoveries

in #photography5 years ago

I was returning home in my car, when I decided to take the beach road.
I always enjoy seeing a little bit of more blue before, after and during my walks ...

It was then that I saw the sky at the end of the horizon to be full with colored kites!
What I did was park the car and run for them immediately!

At first I was on flip flops so I could not walk so quickly. Still I went there to see what was going on.
I took some shots and decided to go back home for wearing my athletic shoes.

Today was a very windy day, so it was an amazing scenery to see them harness the wind and the waves. They would do a great job not getting in each other's way, sometimes jumping up high and everyone that would pass from the beach road, would stop to make photos of them!

20191005_162017_000_resized.jpg

And of course I would not miss the chance of talking to a surfer .. so I did, and I learned a bunch of information. Where they come from, when they come to this beach (when the wind is west) etc etc etc

So I may be sharing more about this sport soon, and who knows, maybe it is my ticket to overcoming my fear for the deep seas!

IMG_20191005_160354_515.jpg

If you would like to see some videos, click on my instagram to see more > https://www.instagram.com/p/B3PWUpcILuU/


And some history about this very impressive sport ..

In the 1800s, George Pocock used kites of increased size to propel carts on land and ships on the water, using a four-line control system—the same system in common use today. Both carts and boats were able to turn and sail upwind. The kites could be flown for sustained periods.
The intention was to establish kitepower as an alternative to horsepower, partly to avoid the hated "horse tax" that was levied at that time.
In 1903, aviation pioneer Samuel Cody developed "man-lifting kites" and succeeded in crossing the English Channel in a small collapsible canvas boat powered by a kite

by Wikipedia

Sort:  

Hi @katerinaramm!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.711 which ranks you at #1630 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 79 contributions, your post is ranked at #41.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97