Grandpa Cyborg Photoshop ArtsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Grandpa Cyborg.jpg

It's Grandpa Cyborg! He's not really my Grandpa, but he looks like he's related to him. In fact, if ever there were someone who should have been a cyborg, it was my Grandpa Ted. My Dad tells me that Grandpa once smashed his hand with a sledgehammer, and wrapped it in an old snot rag and kept working until lunch time. During lunch he ate food with one hand in a pot of cold water. Later his mother arrived and sewed up his hand. No need to go to the hospital. There was work to be done!

Legend tells the Grandpa once peeled his knee cap back with a draw knife. Of course his mother sewed that up too. There were all kinds of stories about Grandpa getting hurt and shrugging it off. Did that man even feel pain??! It reminds me of Admiral Benson from the comedy movie Hot Shots. Many parts of his body were prosthetic from all the injuries he had in battle.

Admiral Benson: God, that's loud! My ear canals are very sensitive. They're stainless steel. Took a bullet at Corregidor, 1945.

Admiral Benson: I don't have a clue what you're talkin' about, Phil. Not a clue. I have a shell fragment the size of a fist in my head. Pork Chop Hill, 1953. The only way I can make this toupee to stay on my head is by magnetizing the entire upper left quadrant of my skull..."

Classic.

Anyway, to the point of this post. My last post on Androids and Cyborgs did pretty well. In the comments the idea was mentioned of creating an elderly cyborg. I really loved the idea because the majority of photo manipulation pictures I find of cyborgs are of hot young people, mostly women, and I thought it a cool idea to do something different. So kudos to you, @dbactingla for coming up with a unique idea! I hope you like Grandpa Cyborg.

Sort:  

I love this!
It has such a wonderful steampunk feel to it. He looks to me like he could be an inventor who has had a few accidents and had to patch himself up.
Lovely stories about your Grandpa too, he definitely sounds like he's had an interesting life with some bizarre stories to tell.

Thank you! My Grandparents were sort of hillbillies, so they definitely had some great stories. haha

DUDE, nice work again! I think it’s so cool how it opens up how people would’ve been introduced to cybernetic enhancements at different stages of their lives. And i love that you have a story and figure that influenced it! Keep me coming and thanks for the shoutout!

What a legacy this man will leave when he kicks the bucket.Perhaps they can put his prosthetics in the bucket after cremating him.

I absolutely love this! You're right...always pics of hot-girl-cyborgs:) Your grandpa sounds like my dad. I grew up on a farm and there was never time to waste going to doctors...my dad one time finished a day of work holding his arm at a funny angle. My mom insisted on going to emergency in the evening only to find out he had broken it earlier in the day! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67