Deranged Photography Contest - A Rosebud for Macro Monday

in #photography5 years ago

I saw this beautiful tiny rosebud this morning and had to grab a shot for the Macro Monday photo contest by @derangedcontests.

Olympus EM-1 Mk2, 1/800s f/4.0 ISO200 60mm (35mm eq:120mm)
syjud1k6so.jpg

There was a slight breeze and the rosebud was blowing back and forth a little, so I took a few shots hoping for a good one. I could tell that I wasn't getting the entire thing in focus so I stopped down a bit to f/4, but when I got home I could see that my depth of field was still too low. Fortunately I had one shot with the front of the bud in focus and another with the sides and back in focus, so I was able to stack two images to produce this one final shot. I hope you like it!

This is my entry for the Professional tier of the contest. Please click for a closer view, and thanks a lot for visiting!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Check the latest update to learn more about me.
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

What a nice macro, shooting flowers outside is always a challenge if there is any wind something I often struggle with

I put the camera in continuous auto focus and hope it keeps up with the movement. The only real answer I have is a higher shutter speed to freeze the motion, and stop down to get enough depth of field... that might mean bumping the ISO up, though. Also, just take a bunch of shots and hope you get lucky! :-)

I saw on a post the other day someone who also does what you say plus also does continuous shooting for a bunch of shots and if your lucky one of them had the focus we want and no motion blur, thats somethignI may try next time as well

I've got a high-speed mode on my camera with 30 frames per second or something ridiculous... it's basically shooting video with no sound. Sometimes I'll get into that mode, get just outside of focus and then lean in slightly with the camera while firing off a quick burst... One or more frames will be in focus, or I can pick a couple to stack in PS.

I can also do in-camera stacking but that means a tripod and no wind, so it's really only good for shooting indoors. I haven't had a chance to try that yet. Macro is one of my favourite things and I try to take some shots every day :-)

WOw thats impressive 30 frames per second I think mind only does 12, focus stacking is something I should look into as well thats something I have not tried yet
Macroscan be so amazing I haven't taken out my macro lens for a couple of weeks I must load it up in my bag and try again

Oh man, I've got more high-tech packed into my little camera than you can even imagine! The only thing I'm lacking is pure image quality which comes with a full-frame sensor. I've sold my large heavy gear and now I'm using only micro four thirds. It super easy to take photos with, but it requires a great deal more thought to create decent images. Got to really work at understanding light and optics and the basics of photography in order to get an image that doesn't suck. That's cool though, I have fun with it!

I have read a lot of great reviews about the OM1 it is such an impressive camera one of the first new cameras I bought was the OM10 and I loved that camera and always had a special place for olympus,
I to switched to Mirrorless to lighten the load I carry around, now I have tow an APC A6500 and the full frame A7iii

it's probably as good as it gets with micro 4/3, except for possibly the Lumix G-9 which also has amazing features (Like pick your focus point after you shoot!) but my images will never compete with my old stuff shot with the full frame. Side-by-side they do not compare well, but I've learned a new trick: NEVER show my Nikon and Olympus images side-by-side! ;-)

Red rose...i like that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks very much!

How gorgeous! Oh, the wind and sun are my worst enemies.

You really captured the essence of beauty, Keith, with the soft subtle focus in all the right place. Needless to say, the hint of dew puts it over the top.

!tip

Hello Denise! I'm back... sort of. Actually leaving in two days for a road trip, but I'm planning to hang out on Steem more often now. Happy you liked my photo, you always say the nicest stuff! <3

🎁 Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Monochrome Monday With A Touch Of Red Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

This is really very beautiful and perfect for the entry.

Thanks very much, @rocksg!

It is a very delicate cocoon.

I think roses are so beautiful, and it's cool that they are still blossoming... thanks very much :-)

They are delicate and their perfume is subtle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01