Travel - Ethiopia - Hiking Without Fear

in #photography5 years ago

IMG_0171.jpg

What's one of the most impactful lessons I've learned through my travels? Don't, ever, ever, under any circumstance, deter a child from attempting things just because without thoughtful reasoning. There's a big difference between rationalizing to them why it's not physically possible to do certain things and deterring them because you can't, couldn't, or don't want to. When it comes to feasible dreams, real attainable visions that they've seen others accomplish, you have the duty to provide them with answers as to how those feats were accomplished. Being believed in is a feeling that is indescribable, yet provides so much solace to the youth soul. As a child, I was always afraid of the idea of hiking, of being so far up above the ground, that I would often avoid experiences because of the fear of attempting. As a child, I thought, "why should anyone test life?". We test life because it is ours. It is our life to choose what to do with and it is our life to live. Not everyone has an interest in hiking, but for those who have the inkling to do, just do it!

A while back some friends and I were chatting about cool and exciting things to do, and places to see, and I expressed how amazing it was hiking. They laughed and made comments that almost made me question, "why?". Then I remembered how varying our interests are and how important it is to respect that. I've had many other goals in my life, many of which were shot down, but as I've grown I've been able to see the control I have over my life and how little affect criticisms and opinions have on my life. Even so, this hike I went on with some of the kids in the community brought back the little scared, insecure, me, who never wanted to dare because it was "stupid and dangerous" to attempt.

These children are one of a kind. The village we're in sits at above 3200m and the highest mountain, Amba, sits at around 3700m, if not higher - rough estimate. There's no clear path up, or down, and several days before it had rained, so the child in me was throwing up all sorts of cautions. Despite it all, I reminded myself that my life is in my hands. The scared little me watched as the children casually ascended up, with no worries. No one had told them they couldn't do it, no one deterred them due their own own personal convictions They just did. No questions, little hesitation, and filled with curiosity.

It's funny, how everytime you finish a hike you feel like the weight of the world has been lifted off your shoulders. Some tremble, shake, and doubt, the entire time they're hiking. I did my best to just breath, relax, and enjoy the scenery. As an adult I continue to learn more and more from children and it continues to give me more life.

Hope you enjoyed reading, drop a comment and let me some of the lessons you've learned.

Happy traveling and I hope you're all enjoying the new year!

IMG_0238.jpg IMG_0287.jpg
IMG_0233.jpgIMG_0339.jpgIMG_0298.jpgIMG_0351.jpgIMG_0365.jpg()

Sort:  

Wow, what a beautiful countryside! I love the high elevation and those little cone roofed houses. What a dreamy experience. Thank you for sharing!

Anytime, stay tuned!

Congratulations @kissiwarrior! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kissiwarrior! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hey Buddy! I found your blog a few days ago and it deserves so much more Attention! I would recommend you to use the #travelfeed tag for every travel post with 250 words + to get more attention and maybe even curated! Check them out @travelfeed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81