All Hallow's Eve, emotion and therapeutic art!

It’s Hallow’s Eve. It’s been an emotional rollercoaster. This day always sucks for @customnature and I. Our dad was killed by a drunk driver in February of 2001. Today would have been his birthday, and as my brother best said it, “He’s been gone longer than he was in our lives”. I had a few extra years with him as the oldest, but still, senselessly tragic. I did have a nice start to my day waking up with @vermillionfox to watch the Apple iPad Pro event. If anything can counter a melancholy mood for me, it’s new creative technology. @tarotbyfergus and I did our thing at @caffetto, and @guthrie hung out for the evening as well.

I wasn’t able to get much editing done tonight. I started some pencils on a sketch for an upcoming project with @ghostfish. I actually wanted to, and I’ve been harping on the end of the month deadline […the last two Steemit posts about the jewelry look book], but I decided I was going to take a few hours for a therapeutic illustration session. Sometimes I really need those to stay balanced. The photos I was able to get to tonight were fun. A few weeks ago, I made a post titled “Spooky girls at The Artisan!”. This is a follow up to that post with the beautiful Vegas duo of Rachel and Maribel.

I received a very sweet text from Maribel asking if I thought I’d be able to get her one more creepy photo before Halloween. I’ve been inundated with big projects, but that was a fair request and I really did need a mental and creative break from the same shoots. That happens. It’s why I like to jump from shoot to shoot during my workflow. It gives me the opportunity to see the photos with fresh eyes and get excited for them all over again. Running through the images tonight was exactly that. A few incredibly hidden gems that I overlooked the first time around.

This is just a few of the photos still to come. Both models will be getting full sets of images. For the next couple of weeks, I’ll be trying to finish up the jewelry look book and clients that’ve been waiting patiently since Viva Las Vegas, but after that, I’ll have more of Maribel and Rachel to share. I have a trip to LA coming up in mid-November, and of course I’ll be sharing behind the scenes with the shoots scheduled while I’m on the west coast. Thanks for reading. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Again, whenever I feel rushed and busy, I just read one of your posts ;) You are a busy man.

Another set of great shots and the dark mood so prevalent in your work still has such a spark of light and joy in it.

I am so sorry for you Father. It is hard to lose parents. I had very Old parents and my mother passed with Alzheimer, it was a pretty sad way to see a loved one go, but there really isn't any good way to say goodbye.

Enjoy your new technology and know those who have gone smile on us :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I did not notice your photos since now, shame on me, i love photography and your photos look crazy, i m very sorry to hear about your personal story, it's sad and horrible when incidents hurt and kill good people, by the way you have a new follower!

😊👌👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Love and tons of hugs your way🖤

i like your creativity with photography. 😊😊😊

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

logoAsset 5@2x copy.png

This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's manual curation trail with a curie direct follow vote. Please use the #photomag tag to spread the word.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01