Las Vegas drama w/ Miss Victory Violet!

Hey, Steemit! I’m here at the end of a mixed bag kind of day. @vermillionfox and I had plans. They didn’t work out that way. We were suppose to go to the gym. That didn’t happen. We were suppose to apply for a cool job. That also didn’t happen. What did happen, though, was getting to @caffetto with @guthrie, well before our usual schedule. That’s because he got out of school early due to snow […I swear, he’s only had one full day of school in the last three straight weeks]! We tried to make the most of it. The time at @caffetto was enjoyable, all the way down to the @tarotbyfergus MTG beatings […which he received].

I’ve had a focused eye on @coppercoins with @ghostfish. Unfortunately, last night, we weren’t able to get much done on account of @guthrie’s incredibly difficult bedtimes. We did what we could, but the last 24 hours, I’ve been in a perpetual state of thought regarding the various stories we’ve developing. Tonight, I made a STEEM purchase on something I normally wouldn’t afford myself […one of things I love most about STEEM as a part of my life is those kind of situations]. $90 for a Masterclass session by Neil Gaiman. I’ve never tried Masterclass. Gaiman on story telling was too good to pass on.

Now back to my own area of expertise, I do have a few photos to share of Miss Victory Violet; one of my favorite pinups in the modern world. She’s a New Zealand fashion blogger and vintage enthusiast and I had the good fortune to meet and shoot with her way back in 2015 while she was in for Viva Las Vegas. “Shooting w/ Kiwi pinup girl Miss Victory Violet - Part 1”, and “Shooting w/ Kiwi pinup girl Miss Victory Violet - Part 2” are both great reads from my early Steemit days, if you’d like to get caught up on how the magic of my collaborations with Miss Victory Violet came to be.

This was meant to be something different. We’d shot at sunrise in Valley of Fire, NV. It would be hard to top, so we decide to go a completely different direction. Miss Victory Violet had never done anything dark and goth, and The Artisan Hotel is the perfect backdrop for haunting imagery. She came to Vegas with a custom made gown from a New Zealand designer. As a vintage blogger, she is always incredible with hair and make-up, and in two hours, we’d created an entirely new chapter of our respective careers.

I have a couple more to go on this shoot with Miss Victory Violet, so there will be at least two or three more to come. I also recently announced on Instagram that I’ll be traveling to Australia this summer, and as it turns out, Miss Victory Violet will be there as well. If not an entire shoot, we’ll definitely be getting a selfie on the other side of the world. Thanks for reading. Trial by Comics updates coming very soon. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Ahh snap... you're making me want to drop some cash on that MasterClass. It's been running rampant through my other social media feeds and is certainly tempting. I managed a bit of a tax refund this year so today I've been shoring up my Steem Power, setting aside cash to book a convention table or two, and Neil Gaiman would fit in to that spending spree nicely...

Speaking of conventions... any chance you'd want to time an east coast trip to hit Baltimore Comic Con in October? I'll be planning my launch for then (mainly because it's late in the season and I need all the time I can get!) and I'm putting the feelers out (@drwatson & @blewitt are targets!) on if anyone might be interested in putting together a bit of a Steem block at the show. Copper Coins would be an amazing addition!

I’m in!!!

That's enough of a heads up, I can probably coordinate being on the east coast around that time @bryan-imhoff. I'll definitely have one, if not two stories of @coppercoins done by then. I'll see if I can persuade @ghostfish and @vermillionfox to come along as well.

Wow this is aesthetics 😮👌

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope the masterclass will be helpful for you!

I love your photos, especially the last one!

I'm just getting ready to start it, @jwolf. I've been a Neil Gaiman fan for 20 years at least, so this is going to be fun. Thanks for the feedback.

Hello @kommienezuspadt ! Will you still organize comic book contests? Maybe you need help on the jury? :-)

I'm a little behind on the Trial by Comics announcements and results, but it'll be coming soon. I'll definitely keep you in mind for guest judging @mister-omortson!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63138.90
ETH 3290.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89