Viva to Viva; a photo story w/ Asian pinup, Lynda!

Early morning for many of you on Steemit, but here in the midwest, I’m just about to end my day. I’m leaving for LA and Vegas early Sunday morning. Tomorrow is my last full day in Minnesota till almost the end of April. I’ve been taking care of last minute things at home. Dealing with an iPhone screen replacement crisis […which is fortunately sorted at this point], and fitting in some MTG games with @tarotbyfergus, @vermillionfox, @dartstrife and @iamredbar. I even managed to see @ghostfish tonight for some horror projects.

I’ve also been cutting through the last of my owed work. Maybe not the “last” of it, but definitely the work I’ve owed the longest. Sadly, I’ve been trying to finish a handful of clients before Viva Las Vegas, from last Viva Las Vegas! The double slam of @wcpublishing’s Dark Pinup book priority and this endless bear market left me six months or more behind on editing. @vermillionfox and I were talking today about a workflow that would allow her to help in my editing. Just waiting on Adobe to release Photoshop for iPad Pro.

The photography I have to share tonight is of Lynda. An absolutely beautiful, sweet pinup that I met during Viva Las Vegas, last April. She’d contacted me months before the Rockabilly Weekend festival. She was one of my last shoots of the trip, a total of 33 in two weeks. Lynda’s personality and genuine appreciate for what it is I do, really snapped me in to a creative headspace. My friend Ralph offered us his speakeasy to shoot, which made for the perfect backdrop for the looks Lynda had brought with her.

We found interesting solutions to lighting challenges. One of the things I love about Ralph’s speakeasy is his interior design and decor. Everything is midcentury modern, but the colors on the wall and much of the fortunate is warm, almost golden. It’s easy for me to capture and bounce light. Lynda took direction so well, I was able to execute shots that would have been very difficult otherwise. Looking at these photos and spending the last couple of days with them, reminds me how energized I was to shoot with her.

The good news is, I’ll be seeing Lynda again in just over a week. She’s going to be back at Viva Las Vegas and I’ll have the chance to work with her a second time. I’m endlessly grateful for her patience. She is what I’d call a dream client, for sure. LA and Viva trips are daunting but it’s nice to know I have her company to look forward to. Thanks for reading. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt.

Sort:  

can't stop myself from commenting!
damn she's gorgeous!
Love the last photo, godfather ish mood! <3

The local guys are hassling me to get together for a MtG session. Are you using the latest set (Ravnica Allegiance).. and is it any good? We generally get a box and do a sealed 9 pack each.

@slobberchops, I really think you should because it's looking like War of the Spark is going to be one of the best sets to hit Standard in years. Every pack is going to supposedly have a planeswalker. We play BRAWL a lot, which is like mini-Standard-EDH, so I can't wait. Once a year, I do this big Viva Las Vegas trip, so it turns out the most money I make annually is going to coincide with the release of this set. Not good, lol

Every pack plainswalker would be a little overkill but I can see from the spoiler list so far that there are some rare planeswalkers.. they are generally mythics.

I havent played Brawl, we usually do 1 on 1, 2 matches at a time.. it takes hours for 3 matches each.. and usually uses the whole afternoon.

The set looks good, Ill keep an eye on it.

https://www.mtgstocks.com/sets/324

Have a great old one! They will be long days. Luck!!
she looks really sensual, beautiful photos, the first is incredible.

Nice shots. the first one is definitely my favorite, very arty and creates a story.. the other two are a bit set up for my style, but I'm probably not the intended viewer anyway 😉
And wow, 6 months behind, kindof makes me feel good that I'm not the only one behind on projects all the time 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

The pinup genre is all about set up, posed photos @frejafri. I almost went down the path of documentary photography, but I ended up here in the fashion and beauty genre. Yeah. I'm way behind. It's really stressful.

Yea I thought so, well done, and don't be too stressed, we're all behind on something!

Posted using Partiko Android

Lighting!!! Oh, and contrast.

Thanks for the feedback, @minwage780! Glad you like the work.

Wow you've a busy month coming up I see @kommienezuspadt and I feel you. I am back at 'home' now and since being so I've now had to begin tackling a huge redo project of bath and kitchen and now landscape as I try to get our place ready to possibly let this Summer...long story, but I feel you as I've got to manage all that and still try and stay on top...ish of artwork :/

Have fun in Vegas!

This is kind of like Hell-week for me, @donnadavisart, but it's two weeks. On the other hand, I live off the deposits from this trip all year long. At some point, I have to actually get there and take the photos.

Fantastic work, looking forward to seeing more.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's a tough job but someone has to do it, thanks.

HAHAHA! Yeah, lol. Might as well be me, @funbobby51! :P

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Congratulations @kommienezuspadt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 comments. Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62332.64
ETH 3006.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94