Rhubarb & Blood Orange Galette

in #photography6 years ago

619A9546.jpg

What is up with the rhubarb obsession?

Have you noticed that too? Well, I certainly did. Almost every food blog I follow has something made out of rhubarb, mostly pies, of course. Turns out these pink stalks of celery are in season right now, a little late for Michigan, but hey better late than never haha.
Growing up in Crimea I don't recall ever tasting rhubarb, it must not be common over there at all, so when I spotted some at a grocery store the other day, I knew I had to get some.

619A9522.jpg

Surprisingly, it tasted so much better than I expected, I fell in love with the fresh and sour flavor of it, I think it may as well be my new favorite fruit to experiment with, so expect more rhubarb recipes in the future :).

619A9537.jpg

Ingredients for the pie crust:

  • 1 cup flour;
  • 1 table spoon brown sugar;
  • a pinch of salt;
  • 1 stick butter;
  • 1 table spoon lemon juice;
  • 2 table spoons ice water.

Ingredients for the pie filling:

  • 1-2 rhubarb stalks (sliced);
  • 1 blood orange (sliced);
  • 1 egg (for the egg wash);
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch;
  • 2-4 tablespoons sugar;
  • handful of pumpkin seeds.

619A9556.jpg
619A9552.jpg

Directions:

For the galette: In a mixing bowl combine flour, sugar and salt, grate in cold butter and mix together until the dough gets crumbly, then add in lemon juice and ice water, a little bit at a time. Mix the dough with a fork until it starts coming together. Chill the dough in the fridge for 30 minutes or an hour.
Once the time is up, roll out the dough into a round 3-5 mm thick, transfer the dough into a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and start assembling the galette.

For the filling: Cut the peel around the blood orange slices (I only used 3 slices) and place them in the center of the galette. In a small bowl toss rhubarb slices with cornstarch and sugar, arrange in the middle leaving a 5 cm border around the edge. Fold the rim of the dough up to seal the galette.
Beat the egg and brush the crust. Sprinkle pumpkin seeds or nuts of your choice around the edges.
Preheat your over to 400 F and bake for approximately 30 minutes or until the galette turns golden brown.

Cut the gallete into wedges and serve warm with a scoop of ice cream, or let it cool and serve with a warm beverage such as chai tea. If you're a sweet tooth, I recommend increasing the amount of sugar in the recipe because this dessert does not turn out sweet, it has a pleasant sour taste. Enjoy!

619A9525.jpg
619A9557.jpg
619A9535.jpg


Sort:  

@ kotturinn, Your cake looks very appetizing :). Rhubarb is a delicious plant, but I haven't tried using it for pie. Now I will definitely use Your recipe:). I mostly make compote out of it. Its special taste gives a great refreshing effect in hot weather. I'm also making jam out of it. It turns out very tasty too. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

I have yet to try making jams and drinks out of rhubarb, I still have some left so I think I am going to try making a drink out of it. Make sure you coat the rhubarb with some extra sugar when you make the pie, it did turn out kinda sour in my recipe, I still liked it though.

Thanks :)

I've collected your post. I'll try to make the way you say I'm ready. thanks for sharing with us. @kotturinn

Awesome, thanks :)

Awesome your Recipe. i think

It ain't bad haha thank you!

ha ha ha ha ha ha ha .......................... dear. thanks

appetizing and cute, I want it!

Haha thanks!

well, the recipe is provided, make some :D

Wow so beautiful thank you

Happy to see you're into it, thanks :)

They looks amazing. I bet they taste good as well. Thanks for sharing

Not gonna lie it tasted pretty delicious, you should make it :D Thanks!

This is beautiful, I can't wait to try it out!

The truth I had not heard about rhubarb, here in my country you can not get that color much less, it is something new for me I hope if I travel some day somewhere else where I can prove it @kotturinn

Welcome to the club then! I haven't heard of it or seen when I lived in Crimea either! Hopefully you can taste it someday, or perhaps you could grow it?

It turned out pizza with rhubarb and oranges!

Just need some cheese to top it off :D

The pictures of this cake are just amazing!

Happy to see you liked them @anna-mi! Thanks!

Wow, what a beautiful creation!

Thanks! I think galettes are now my favorite pastries haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62777.17
ETH 2951.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59