Snow-Covered Mushroom - Who am I? Win 1 STEEMsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Before leaving the country last Sunday morning, we went for a second snowshoe trip in the forest on Saturday and found another type of mushroom/fungus attached to a birch tree.

It snowed the night before, so it was partially covered in snow. It seems like it would do a good job of providing shelter from the snow. At least, for whatever critter could sit on the middle fungus and be protected from the larger cap above.

I had taken two other pictures, but apparently I didn't press on the phone button properly, as I only ended up with this one shot.

Can you tell me what fungus this is? I couldn't find it when searching for it by it's description.

I will give 1 STEEM to whoever identifies it correctly and links to a page that proves what it is.


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


Like what I do? Then consider giving me a vote on the Witness page :) Thanks!

My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.

Sort:  

Hard to pinpoint exact species, but definitely a fungus of the Piptoporus genus. They are plentiful in Denmark :)

Edit: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Piptoporus

What a great find of the trio and covered in snow is a cool bonus.

Birch Polypore. You can make a nice tea with them. Medicinal.

https://www.ediblewildfood.com/birch-polypore.aspx

Are you sure? I don't see one that looks like the photo really. It had dark gills underneath as I recall, which was more visible on the other photo that was not taken. But maybe that was just the shading making it look darker than the top. I guess in time they get more brown?

If it has gills then it is not a birch polyphore.

Ok sorry not gills, but a darker underbelly. This is probably the correct mushroom name ;)

I believe dry ones can also be used as tinder to start a fire, but of course the bark of the birch tree is one of the best natural tinder sources so if you can find a birch tree you are all set anyways.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95