Melbourne Street Art, The Walls Tell A Story

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

We are closing in on the end of the financial year and its starting to get real busy. Last week I was working away in Melbourne Victoria. Normally I would take my camera but on this particular trip I simply could not fit it with all the warm clothes I needed and to be honest I wasn't sure if I would have a free minute but as I finished up my commercial inspection on Flinders Lane I passed some beautifully colourful, graffiti covered lanes. With an iPhone in hand I was able to capture a few images I can share with you today.

IMG_816.jpg

I've purposely removed the colour from both the images, I prefer black and white but not always. Removing the colour gives the lane more of a grunge, old time feel.

IMG_8168 6.jpg

I've been to this part of the city before and each time splayed across the walls for all to see are stories or points of views portrayed through art, colour and words in some of the most clever and eye catching ways imaginable.

IMG_815.jpg

The piece that noticeably stood out during my very short visit was a tribute to the late Anthony Bourdain. Its huge and hard to miss and quite neat compared to some of the other pieces.

IMG_8155 6.jpg

We are in the midst of the last week of the financial year, my work revolves heavily around this date. The last month I have been flat out but the end is near and you will be seeing more of me here on Steemit soon.

Peace :)

Sort:  

Superb... I love Melbourne to visit. @krystalfinnigan
Also check my post @crypto.update

That is some very striking street art in both black and white and colour. Thanks for sharing. I didn’t know about Anthony Bourdains passing so doubly striking for me. Did you know monochrome has an h in it? Wouldn’t want you to miss out on views, your work is superb🔥 So does work fall right off at the end of the financial year for you? Some time to go hiking with Harry and your camera and relax in the countryside? I hope so. ☺️

Thank you Sally :) I do but I quickly put my post together before bed so I do appreciate you bringing that to my attention. Work is still busy after the end of the financial year but during this time of year it gets a little crazy. Most of our clients are in a rush to do their taxes or have left getting a depreciation schedule to the last minute so my days during this time end up being very long this means a lot of overtime working Saturdays and only seeing the sun on Sunday lol. I do have a snow trip planned in the coming weeks to New Zealand so I'm hanging out for that but the countryside would be nice too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61